Larson deflecting Indiana midget race challenges

Kyle Larson won Tuesday’s opening round of the 16th annual USAC Indiana Midget Week at Paragon Speedway.

Larson made a late-race pass of Tanner Thorson four laps from the finish to claim his sixth consecutive win behind the wheel between World of Outlaws, All Star and USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget competition.

The victory also marked Larson’s eighth straight victory when competing in a midget inside the United States with victories in the final three USAC National Midget features to conclude the 2019 season in California at Placerville, Bakersfield and Ventura.

Then he won both nights of the Gateway Dirt Nationals in St. Louis, Missouri, in December. He then promptly won his first two starts of 2020 in January with a preliminary win and a final night triumph at the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Larson’s sixth career Indiana Midget Week win, which ranks second all-time behind Bryan Clauson’s nine, also was the 20th of his USAC National Midget career, tying him with A.J. Foyt for 32nd all-time.

And it came in the first USAC National Midget race conducted at Paragon since 1985. Prior to Tuesday night, only once had Larson visited Paragon Speedway. That occasion came as a spectator several years ago.

“I’ve been waiting a long to come here to Paragon to get my chance to race,” Larson said. “I’m glad I could add my name to the winner’s list here.”

Thorson finished second, followed by Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Chris Windom and Justin Grant. The rest of the top 10 consisted of Tanner Carrick, Tyler Courtney, Logan Seavey, Buddy Kofoid and Kevin Thomas Jr.

Larson also won both the June 17 race at Gas City I-69 Speedway and the June 18 race at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville to start the 2020 Indiana USAC Midget Week with three wins in the first three races.

The USAC Indiana Midget Week races tonight at Lawrenceburg Speedway and Sunday night at Kokomo Speedway to conclude the week.

Fans in the stands

at Brownstown

Matt Boknecht of Seymour became the third different winner in three super stock feature events last Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway.

For the first time this season, the track was allowed to have race fans in the main grandstand, and a good-sized crowd was on hand for the five divisions of racing.

Boknecht held off fellow Seymour racer Jamey Wilson to score the feature win. Steve Hollars, who won last week’s feature race, was third, followed by Trey Chastain of Bedford and J.T. Huffman of Salem.

Dusten Carr of Underwood won the Don Russ Tribute pure stock special feature over Dalton Fleenor of Salem, Dave Palmer of Clarksville, Josh Hayes of Seymour and Mickey Hines of Scipio.

Shelby Miles became the first two-time winner this season in the pro late model division. The Bloomington racer led Steve Peeden of Paragon, Tyler Neal of Paragon, Marty O’Neal of Spencer and Billy Green of Walton, Kentucky, across the finish line.

The pro late model heat races went to Neal, Peeden and Mason Covey. Josh Boller won the B-main.

The crown vics division made its 2020 season debut at Brownstown with Aaron Seay of Jeffersonville taking the win in the feature.

The week in racing history

From 1970 at Brownstown, Jack Owens won the feature race over John Warner, Ira Bastin, Jim Curry and Gene Dalton.

Also, from 1970 at Bloomington Speedway, Bob Kinser won the sprint car feature over Dick Gaines, Bob Papoy, Rex Mitchell and Danny Bowlen.

From 50 years ago at Haubstadt, Larry Miller won the sprint car main event over Bob Kinser, Richard Poe, Rex Mitchell and Chuck Amati.

From 40 years ago at Brownstown, Ray Godsey won the late model feature over Paul Crockett, Kenny Simpson, Pete Willoughby and Charlie Reed. Ernie Barrow took the hobby stock feature ahead of Tony Moore, Lee Fleetwood, Cooley Singer and Mike Jewell. Scott Holt won the street stock main over Mac Swim, Larry Kiser and Bob Johnson.

Also, from 1980 at Putnamville, Russ Petro won the late model feature over Ray Godsey, Larry Taylor, Roger Absher and Carl Collins.

From 1980, it was Tom Helfrich winning the late model feature over Ira Bastin, Fred Gerteisen, Jim Curry and Doug McCammon.

The brand-new Charlestown Motor Speedway in Charlestown opened this weekend in 1980 with Paul Crockett winning the late model feature over Ray Godsey, Pete Willoughby, Carl Collins and James Underwood. Roger Zellner won the hobby stock feature over Steve Boley, Marvin Strong, Bobby Carrier Sr. and Mike Jewell. Bud Seymour won the street stock feature race.

Also, from 1980, Russ Petro won the late model feature at Twin Cities over Tommy Day, Buck Ridenour, Johnny Robbins and Dee Kramer. Jack Smith took the street stock feature over R.C. Calton, Bill Franks, Troy Burton and Larry Plessinger.

From 2000 at Brownstown, Steve Barnett won the late model feature over Richie Hedrick, Brett Davis, Steven Godsey and Doug Ault. Tim Clark took the street stock feature race over Greg Kendall, Brad Cummings, Keith Deppe and Mike Fields. Matt Bex won the bomber feature over John Phelps, Troy Clark, Rick Applegate and Andrew Davis.

No posts to display