Brownstown Speedway racing with fans tonight

For the first time this season the Brownstown Speedway has been cleared to allow spectators for tonight’s racing activities. The Don Russ Memorial for Pure Stocks will be held, paying $600 to win.

The main grandstands, along with main grandstand concessions, will be open. The gates will be back to normal, general admission will be collected at the front gate when you enter the fairgrounds and pit admission will be collected at the pit gate. Race teams must park in the pit area this week.

For the safety of employees, only one person per team will be allowed at driver registration and that person must be either the car driver or owner.

No congregation will be allowed in this area and six-foot social guidelines must be followed. THe 1099 forms must filled out in advance and brought to driver registration. Forms can be found on the racetrack website. Also, needed are a drivers license and a $5 transponder rental fee.

On the schedule will be pro late models, modifieds, pure stocks, super stocks and hornets. For more information:

Jennings County Go-Kart results

The Jennings County Outlaw Kart racing opened its season June 5 with a record-setting count of 112 entries to compete at the Jennings County 4H Fairgrounds in North Vernon.

The winners were Chris Buchanan (380 clone), Corey Vanover (340 clone), Parker Perry (boxstock outlaw), Zach Powell (rookie), Kevin Cunningham (rwyb), Brody Watts (beginner boxstock), Bristol Cramer (youth champ), Jacob Chadd (jr. 1), Leroy Blevins (limited open), Elijah Knoke (jr. 2), Scott Roccia (flatheads), Ryker Williams (jr. clone), Kyle Thayer (400 clone) and T.J. Garris (sr. champ).

Th next event will be June 19.

Brown County Dragway results

The Brown County Dragway in Morgantown opened its 2020 race season June 7. The winners in each division were: Brayton Brownfield of Columbus, Cayden Frame and Jeffrey Stillabower both of Shelbyville, Boyd Butcher of Indianapolis, Eric Bowling of Bloomington, Rick Covey of Bedford, David Wallen of Fillmore, Deandra Burton of Springville and Noah Sexton.

The next meet will be July 4-5.

McCreadie wins Eldora

Tim McCreadie won the Dirt Late Model Stream Invitational June 6 at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. The event, streamed live on Floracing, was contested in place of the Dirt Late Model Dream race, now moved to 2021.

McCreadie rallied from the 13 th starting spot to take the lead with four laps to go. He won a $50,000 prize. McCreadie, the current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points leader, led Bobby Pierce, Dale McDowell, Brandon Sheppard and Chris Ferguson.

The rest of the top 10 finishers were Ricky Weiss, Shannon Babb, Josh Richards, Jonathan Davenport and Ricky Thornton, Jr.

McCreadie and the rest of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series competitors will race tonight at the Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tennessee. The race will be live on

This week in racing history

In 1970, Ira Bastin won the feature at the Brownstown Speedway over Pete Willoughby, Jim Curry, Jack Owens and Teako Ray.

In 1980 at Brownstown: Kenny Simpson won the late model feature race over Paul Crockett, Ira Bastin, Roger Absher and Steve Barnett. Cooley Singer won the hobby stock feature over Tony Moore, Steve Trabue, Gary Barrow and Horace Lake. The street stock feature went to Mac Swim over Bob Henderson.

In 1980, at Twin Cities: Russ Petro won the late model feature over Buck Ridenour, Terrence Johnson, Gary Herbert and Roger Sullivan.

Also, in 1980 at Haubstadt: Tom Helfrich won the late model feature over Paul Crockett, Ira Bastin, Jim Scales and Dusty Chapman

In 1980 at Putnamville: Russ Petro won the late model feature race ahead of Bubby James, Carl Collins, Larry Taylor and Paul Crockett.

In 1980 at Paragon Speedway: Bob Kinser won the sprint car feature race over Jack Ziegler, Ron Dorsett, Randy Kinser and Frank Hollingsworth.

In 1990 at Brownstown: Doug McCammon won the late model main event over Steve Barnett, Kevin Claycomb, Gary Barrow and Doug Ault. Mark Barber took the street stock feature over Scott Patman, Earl Plessinger, Frankie Coomer and Rodney Riggle. Brad Schlehuser won the bomber feature over Jeff Helton, Tom Allman, Jay Deckard and Don Walp.

In 1990 at Twin Cities: Daryl Herbert won the late model feature over James Huff, Tory Collins, T.J. Straley and Buddy Franks. Darrell Smallwood won the street stock main event over Buford Burton, Brad Cummings, Don Hoover and Brian Wilhite.

In 1990 at Haubstadt: Kevin Briscoe won the sprint car feature over Mark Cummins, Eric Davis, Joey Nash and Gary Hayhurst Jr.

No posts to display