Farm Service Agency committee nominations open Monday

USDA’s Farm Service Agency will begin accepting nominations for county committee members Monday.

Elections will occur in certain Local Administrative Areas for these members who make decisions about how federal farm programs are administered locally. All nomination forms for the 2020 election must be postmarked or received in the local FSA office by Aug. 1.

Agricultural producers who participate or cooperate in an FSA program and reside in the LAA that is up for election this year may be nominated for candidacy for the county committee.

Individuals may nominate themselves or others, and organizations, including those representing beginning, women and minority producers, also may nominate candidates.

Committee members help FSA carry out disaster programs, conservation, commodity and price support programs, county office employment and other agricultural issues.

Committees are made up of three to 11 members, who serve three-year terms, and typically meet once a month. 

Producers may contact their local FSA office to find out how to become involved in their election. Check with your local USDA service center to see if your LAA is up for election this year. In Jackson County, that number is 812-358-2367.

To be considered, a producer must sign an FSA-669A nomination form available at Ballots will be mailed to eligible voters beginning Nov. 2.