Three county residents receive scholarships

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education recently awarded 200 scholarships to the fourth class of Next Generation Hoosier Educators.

Selected through a competitive process based on academic achievement and other factors, recipients will receive $7,500 annually (up to $30,000 total) for committing to teach in Indiana for at least five years after graduating college, according to a news release from the commission.

Three of the recipients are Jackson County residents. The three, their high schools and the universities they plan to attend are:

  • Owen Ballard, Columbus East High School, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Kennedy Cockerham, Seymour Senior High School, Taylor University
  • Erin Otte, Seymour Senior High School, University of Southern Indiana

A total of 367 students applied for the scholarship, with applications from 213 high schools in 82 of Indiana’s 92 counties. More than 83% of applicants were high school seniors with the remainder comprised of college students.

To qualify, students had to either graduate in the highest 20 percent of their class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

To continue earning the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.