Filing period for primary election comes to an end


Filing for the 2020 primary election came to a conclusion at noon Friday at the clerk’s office in the Jackson County Judicial Center in Brownstown.

The list of offices up for election include county commissioner District 1 and District 2 seats and the three at-large county council seats.

In Jackson County, there are no Democrats on the ballot for the 10 countywide offices up for election this year. Any primary ballot vacancies, however, can be filled by parties for the general election through June 30.

The only filings in recent days led to incumbent Republican District 2 Commissioner Bob Gillaspy facing a challenge by fellow Seymour Republicans Dave Eggers and Richard “Kenny” Pfaffenberger.

Brownstown’s Drew Markel doesn’t have an opponent for the District 1 seat.

Five Republicans have filed declarations of candidacy for the at-large county council seats.

That list includes incumbents Dave Hall of Norman and John Nolting of Brownstown, who both registered Jan. 8 when registration opened. Republican Ann Cain of Seymour, the third incumbent, didn’t register for re-election.

Seymour’s Tom Joray added his name to the ballot for one of the at-large council seats Jan. 10, and Seymour’s Woodrow DeZarn Jr. and Crothersville’s Ryan Brett Turner both registered at the end of January. Joray was a county commissioner representing District 2 from 2013 to 2017, while DeZarn was a Seymour city councilman from 2000 to 2004.

The coroner’s race will be between Brownstown’s Ronald Cox and Seymour’s Paul Foster. The position is presently held by Republican Mike Bobb, who did not seek re-election.

Seymour’s Kathy Hohenstreiter is running unopposed for the county treasurer position, while Brownstown’s Roger Hurt is the only one running for county auditor. The two would be switching positions should they get elected as Hurt is finishing up his first four-year term as treasurer and Hohenstreiter is completing her second four-year term. Anyone holding either of those offices is limited to two-year terms by the state Constitution.

Surveyor Daniel Blann of Brownstown doesn’t have a challenger as he seeks re-election.

In the courts, Jackson Superior Court I Judge AmyMarie Travis of Brownstown is currently running unopposed. The Jackson Circuit Court and Jackson Superior Court II judges are not up for election this year.

The final list of state-level official filings includes incumbent Republican Gov. Eric Holcomb, who is being challenged by Republican Brian Roth. Democrat Woodrow Myers is running unopposed in the primary.

Ninth District Congressman Trey Hollingsworth of Jeffersonville, who is seeking re-election to his third two-year term this cycle, is not facing a primary challenge, but five Democrats look to take his seat in the general election.

They are Dale W. Dorris and Andrew Ruff, both of Bloomington, Mark J. Powell of Whiteland, Brandon Hood and James O’Gabhann III of Los Angeles, California.

In the Indiana House, District 65 is presently held by Bedford Republican Chris May; District 69 is presently held by Seymour Republican Jim Lucas; and District 73 is presently held by Salem Republican Steve Davisson.

All three have filed declarations of candidacy for re-election and will meet opposition in either the spring or fall.

Davisson is facing a primary challenge from Republican Mark Cox, while Democrat Jeffrey Prewitt will take on Lucas in District 69 in the general election. Democrat Paula Staley is challenging May in the fall.

No posts to display