Library board conducts regular meeting


The Jackson County Public Library board of trustees conducted its regular meeting Monday at the Seymour Library.

The board approved 2020 library closing and board meeting dates; health, vision, dental and life insurance rates, effective Dec. 1; surplus equipment; and changes to the property and building use and meeting space policies.

Trusttes also approved out-of-state travel and library van use to the Public Library Association Conference from Feb. 25 to 29 in Nashville, Tennessee, for Administrator Mary Reed, Head of Youth Services Lola Snyder, Head of Collection Development Monica Boyer, Circulation Manager Christina Hime and Information Services Manager Janet Hensen.

Hime gave a report on her duties out of the Seymour Library. She is in charge of checkout desks in Seymour, Crothersville and Medora. Circulation assistants package more than 5,000 incoming and outbound transits each month to other libraries in the state, including 123 other Evergreen Indiana libraries.

The board was told the library now has circulating internet hotspots that check out for one week with no renewals. Six are available at the Seymour Library, and two are available at both Crothersville and Medora. Half of them at each location cannot have holds placed on them. All hotspots must be returned to the checkout desk where they were checked out.

Personnel committee chairwoman Kathy Ellis collected and will compile director evaluation forms. The board will conduct an executive session at 5 p.m. Nov. 18 to discuss the results prior to the regular board meeting.

Board President Josh Bartley appointed Tammy Koerner (chairwoman), Dan Davis and Bob Schmielau to the nominating committee. The committee will submit a slate of 2020 officers at the November meeting for a December election.

The board’s next meeting is at 5:20 p.m. Nov. 18.

No posts to display