Speedway seasons coming to a close


The Jennings County Outlaw Karting hosted its next-to-last events of the 2019 season Oct. 13.

There were 87 karts on hand to race in the 11 classes competing. Johnny Smith of Columbus continues his local dominance by winning the rwyb class.

Other winners were T.J. Garris (380 clone), Parker Perry (boxstock outlaw karts), Jared Combs (flatheads), Saban Biebent (jr. 3), Logan Huckeba (jr. 2), Chris Buchanan (340 clone), Zane Riley (jr. clone champs), Travis Wilburn (sr. clone), Zach Roell (rookies) and Dylan McWilliams (open outlaw wing).

Brownstown hosts

Fun Fest finale

The Brownstown Speedway wrapped up its 2019 racing season with its annual Fun Fest featuring several divisions of racing Oct. 11 through 13.

Shelby Miles of Bloomington won the super late model feature. David Webb was second, followed by Greg Johnson, Chad Stapleton, Marty O’Neal, Jared Bailey, Skyller Lewis, Joe Godsey, Tyler Collins and Jeff Wilson.

Kyle Cummins won the two 410 non-wing sprint car features. He opened Fun Fest with his win Oct. 11. Brady Short ran second, followed by Dakota Jackson, Jordan Kinser, Ethan Barrow, Logan Hupp, Alec Sipes, Jake Bland, Aric Gentry and Jadon Rogers.

Cummins’ Oct. 12 feature win in the sprints was over Dakota Jackson, Brady Short, Jordan Kinser, Alec Sipes, Jake Bland, Jadon Rogers, Shane Cockrum and Jake Scott.

Bradley Sterrett of Bloomington won the RaceSaver winged sprint feature over Kerry Kinser, Ethan Barrow, Bradley Galedrige, Saban Biebent, Terry Arthur, Erik Spaulding and Colette Mann.

Tyler Nicely of Owensboro, Kentucky, won the pro late model feature for his first win in a late model. Tyler Neal was second with Marty O’Neal taking third. The remainder of the top 10 finishers were Steven Godsey, Colton Sullivan, Chad Stapleton, Mark Barber, Earl Plessinger, Austin Burns and Jeff Wilson.

Devin Gilpin of Columbus won the modified feature race over Jordan Wever, Cole Falloway, Bradley Sterrett, Levi Ray Godsey, James Walters, Lee Hobbs, Dustin Bruce, Matthew Tiller Jr. and Dennis Boknecht.

Jamey Wilson of Seymour won the super stock main event. Adam Sasser took the second spot, followed by J.T. Huffman, Matt Boknecht and Derek Clegg. Completing the top 10 were Tim Eddelman, Colton Sullivan, Brian Asbury, Marty Cooper and Tom Plotz.

Rick Gumm of Tampico put an exclamation point on a dominating 2019 season in the pure stock division, winning the Fun Fest finale for that division. Jeremy Huebner was second, followed by Mark Hines, Jeff Cranmer and Houston Roark. The rest of the top 10 finishers were David Ross, Dalton Roark, Trevor Cranmer, David Palmer and Tommy Fleenor.

Mickey Hines of North Vernon won the bomber feature race over Dalton Fleenor, Josh Litton, Tom Cox, Josh Hayes, Kevin Jones, Cory Wright, Gary Hayden, Barry Hicks and T.J. Donahoo.

Shawn Durbin of Salem won the hornet feature race over Bill Grant, Owen Cosman, Nick Cooper and Daniel Smith. Completing the next five drivers were J.P. Matthews, Warren Hopkins, Joe Pflum, Blake Durbin and Zach Minton.

Chris Workman of Clarksville won the Crown Vic feature race over Eric Lewis, Jordon Ruddick, Aaron Seay and Chuck Freeman.

Other winners during the weekend included Shawn Durbin (hornet enduro), D.J. Dunn (pure stock enduro), Katie Grigsby and Miranda Basham (powder puff winners) and Scotty Brown (rollover contest).

Salem season-ender Sunday

The Salem Speedway will host the 31st annual Halloween 200 on Sunday. For information, visit salemspeedway.com.

This week in racing history

From 40 years ago in 1979, the Brownstown Speedway named its season champions. Dennis Boknecht edged Ira Bastin by a point and a half to win the late model track title. Trailing Boknecht and Bastin in the final points were Pete Willoughby, Dusty Chapman, Bob Fleetwood, Steve Trabue, Don Hobbs, Paul Crockett, Jim Curry and Dick Phillips. Phillips captured the late model rookie of the year honors.

In the hobby stock class, Jack Taylor took the track championship over Rodney Harris, Roger Hehman, Cooley Singer, Steve Rollins, Tony Moore, Tom Allman, Bob Johnson, Daryl Herbert and Troy Burton.

No posts to display