Special Olympics bowlers compete in county tournament



Four Special Olympics Indiana Jackson County athletes rolled their way to division titles in the county bowling tournament.

Isaiah Burnett won the age 12 to 21 division, while other winners were Becky Klosterman, Dennis England and Scott Thompson.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Click here to purchase photos from this gallery

The county had 20 bowlers competing Wednesday night at Scottsburg Bowling Lanes. The placings were based on handicap scores from their average at practices this fall and the scores from their three games during the tournament.

Burnett, whose birthday was Wednesday, and Alysha Sandlin both finished with scores of 627, but Burnett had the highest game score of 80. His other games were 66 and 64.

Placing third in the 12 to 21 division was Elijah Noble (616), and Averie Brennan (612) was fourth.

Klosterman won Division 2 with a score of 671, which was the highest of all 20 bowlers. Robin Moore was second with 653, Rob Smith was third with 613, Joya Buddo was fourth with 608 and Dale Hickman finished fifth with 601.

Klosterman rolled 92, 128 and 82 in her three games Wednesday, and Moore’s scores were 105, 132 and 92. Moore’s second game was the highest score among the five people in the division.

In Division 3, England won with a score of 655 with games of 65, 89 and 84. He was followed by Roger Hanner with 635, Donald Bennethum with 625, Eric Jackson with 617 and Brad Blakely with 560. Hanner’s score of 96 in the second game was the highest among the division Wednesday.

Then in Division 4, Thompson came out victorious with a score of 623. His second-game score of 144 was the highest of all 20 bowlers in the tournament. His other other scores were 81 and 107.

Adam Lee was second with 603, Montana Casto was third with 578, Kayla Kriete was fourth with 557, Josh Beals was fifth with 543 and Cheroki Isgrigg and Eneliz Rodriguez tied for sixth with 534.

The bowlers will have two more practices before competing in the Area 2 tournament Nov. 2 at Blackiston Bowl in Clarksville. Area 2 consists of athletes from Bartholomew, Brown, Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Orange, Scott, Switzerland and Washington counties.

No posts to display