Early voting for municipal elections begins


Participation in early voting for the general election outpaced the primary within the first few hours.

As of 3 p.m. Tuesday when voting started, 52 voters had already cast a ballot at the Jackson County Public Library in Seymour and Jackson County Judicial Center in Brownstown.

"I think we had four voters for the entire day on the first day of early voting for the primary," Jackson County Clerk Melissa Hayes said. "If that trend holds, then I think we will outpace it."

The period for early voting in the primary drew 431 voters.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Hayes said she thought the higher turnout was due to the Seymour mayoral race between Democrat Rexanne Ude and Republican Matthew Nicholson.

Turnout also could be boosted because voters in Brownstown, Crothersville and Medora will be able to participate in the general election after not being eligible for the primary, she said.

"There are now more voters eligible to vote," she said.

While there was a slow start to voting at the judicial center, that wasn’t the case at the library. A line had formed on the second floor of the library before voting started at 10 a.m.

"We were shocked to see the line, and it’s exciting to see that," Hayes said.

Robert and Mary Lou Shollenberger were among those who took advantage of early voting Tuesday.

The couple said early voting is more convenient for them.

"It’s less hassle and less noise and more convenient," Robert said, adding that there’s usually no lines to vote. "You don’t feel rushed to do it. You can take your time, and if you have any questions, you can stop and ask."

"You don’t have a long line behind you making you feel like you have to hurry," Mary added.

Victor Bryant also took advantage of early voting Tuesday and said he doesn’t miss an election because of the sacrifices he and other military veterans have made to keep voting a right of the people.

"I have been in combat campaigns to fight to help this country keep doing its thing and voting, so it’s important to me," he said. "I vote in every election."

Hours at the library through the week are from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. except for Friday when voting ends at 5:30 p.m. Hayes said the extended hours are good for people who have commitments throughout the daytime.

"I think it helps to have those opportunities to vote after work," she said.

The library was selected because it is a public space many people use, Hayes said. The county decided to use it after the closure of the courthouse in Seymour late last year.

"A lot of people are here anyway, and they offered to let us do it here," Hayes said. "It has been a great thing."

Seymour election

In Seymour, voters will choose between Ude and Nicholson to replace Mayor Craig Luedeman, who decided not to seek a fourth term.

Other decisions include the clerk-treasurer race, where Republican Darrin Boas and Democrat Robin Carpenter are looking to fill the position being vacated by Fred Lewis, who is wrapping up his seventh term in office.

Seven candidates are vying to fill two at-large seats on the Seymour City Council. They are Republicans Bret Cunningham and Drew Storey, Democrats Lloyd Hudson and Joshua Ratliff, Independent Eric DiBlasi Jr. and Libertarians Erin Meadors and Richard Meadors.

For the city council District 1 seat, incumbent Democrat John Reinhart is facing a challenge from Republican Matthew Wheeler.

In District 2, incumbent Republican Jerry Hackney is up against Independent Chad Malone.

Three candidates are seeking the District 3 city council seat. They are Republican Chad Hubbard, Democrat Ollie Knott and Independent Marcus Sewell.

There is no race in District 4, as Republican Seth Davidson has no challenger on the ballot.

And District 5 is a race between incumbent Independent David Earley and Republican Michael Fickert.

Brownstown election

On the ballot for clerk-treasurer in Brownstown is Republican Sonya Nale and incumbent Democrat David Willey.

For the town council, Democrat Pamela Fleetwood is challenging incumbent Republican Gregg Goshorn for the Ward 1 seat. Incumbent Republican Sharon Koch is unopposed for the Ward 2 seat, incumbent Republican Gary Drake is unopposed for the Ward 3 seat, incumbent Democrat Mark Reynolds is unopposed for the Ward 4 seat and Republican Timothy Robinson is unopposed for the Ward 5 seat.

Crothersville election

On the ballot for clerk-treasurer in Crothersville is Republican Staci Peters and Democrat Lenvel "Butch" Robinson.

Eight candidates are running for five seats on the Crothersville Town Council. They are incumbent Republicans Danieta Foster and Chad Wilson, Republicans Jamy Greathouse, Jason Hillenburg and Katie Masters and Democrats Brandon "Kyle" McIntosh, Cedric Nichols and Geoffrey Walker.

Medora election

Incumbent Medora Cerk-Treasurer Democrat Betty Campbell is unopposed on the ballot.

Four candidates are vying for three seats on the Medora Town Council. They are Republicans Jerry Ault, Rhonda Freeman and incumbent Jim Davers and incumbent Democrat Robert Thompson.

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”If you go” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Early voting information


Where: Jackson County Judicial Center, 109 S. Sugar St.

Hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Oct. 26 and Nov. 2 and 9 a.m. to noon Nov. 4


Where: Jackson County Public Library (second floor), 303 W. Second St.

Hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Thursday, 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Friday, 10 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Oct. 26 and Nov. 2 and 9:30 a.m. to noon Nov. 4


No posts to display