Columbus racers dominate in local go-kart action


Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh won the season championship race for the super late models Oct. 5 at the Brownstown Speedway. Shelby Miles finished second followed by Jared Bailey, Devin Gilpin and Steven Godsey. The rest of the top 10 finishers were Mike Hildebrand, Joe Godsey, Skyller Lewis, Brad Barrow and Austin Burns.

Shelby Miles of Bloomington took the pro late model feature and the track championship in the division by winning the feature race. Tyler Neal was second followed by Marty O’Neal, Brad Barrow and Colton Sullivan. Completing the top 10 were Mark Barber, Raymond Humphrey, Steve Peeden, Jeremy Owens and Zack Burton.

Derek Groomer of Bloomington won the modified feature race over Jamie Lomax, Jordan Wever, Tim Rivers and Brayden Watson. Jarod Fleetwood led the next five over Cole Falloway, Jarod Deckard, Dennis Boknecht and Dustin Bruce.

Jamey Wilson of Seymour won his seventh super stock feature of the season at Brownstown over Matt Boknecht, Colton Sullivan, Bryce Shidler and Tim Schumpe. The rest of the top drivers were Derek Clegg, Steve Hollars, Josh Divine, Zach Sasser and Josh Litton.

Rick Gumm of Tampico sewed up the 2019 pure stock title at Brownstown by winning his 15th feature race of the year. Zachary Stalker was second with Jeff Cranmer taking third. Trevor Cranmer was fourth with Josh Hayes grabbing fifth. The rest of the top in the pure stock feature were D.J. Dunn, David Ross, Joey Cochran, Donnie Wilson and Eli Williams.

Shawn Durbin of Salem won his first ever Brownstown feature race by taking the top honors in the hornet division. Justin Joy ran in the runner-up spot with A.J. Hobbs taking third place. The rest of the top five were Dylan Wheeler and Brian Mitchell. Completing the top 10 were Trent Adams, Dale Hobbs, Blake Durbin, Hunter Perry and Andy Brown.

Columbus racers

dominate go-kart racing

Columbus racers dominated the action Oct. 5 at the Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds.

Led by Johnny Smith from Columbus who swept three classes of racing (340 clone, rwyb and flat head) the other local winners were Elijah Knoke (rookie) and Evan Shatto (jr. 3). Mike Sullivan of Shelbyville won the 400-clone feature race.

Racing will continue today at the Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing with practice at 6 PM. Grandstand admission is free.

Jennings County go-kart results

The Jennings County Outlaw Karting held races on October 6 at the Jennings County 4-H Fairgrounds in North Vernon.

Winners from last Sunday were Norman Girard (boxstock outlaw winged karts), Johnny Smith (rwyb), Bryce Foley (400 clone), Jacob Chadd (rookie flatheads), Jacobi Clark (jr. 2), Brandon Malone (flatheads), Skyler Cohee (340 clone), Evan Shatto (jr. 3), Preston Carr (jr. clone champs), Jacob Owens (380 clone), Kyle Willis (sr. clone champs) and Keenan Wilson (adult beginner).

Burton wins at Twin Cities

Bryce Burton of Edinburgh continued his recent hot streak by winning his second straight hornet division feature on Oct. 5 at Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon. Other feature winners were Joey Kramer of Hanover (crate late model), Jacoby Hines of Trafalgar (modifieds), Dusten Carr of Underwood and Doug McCullough of Greencastle won the super stock main event.

The final race of the 2019 racing season at Twin Cities will be Oct. 19 with a pure stock special plus carte late models, modifieds, super stocks and hornets.

Thomas wins Lawrenceburg finale

Kevin Thomas Jr. closed out the 2019 racing season at the Lawrenceburg Speedway on Oct. 5 by winning the USAC National Sprint Car feature race. Tyler Courtney finished in second with Justin Grant finishing third. C.J. Leary and Chris Windom finished fourth and fifth. Rounding out the top 10 were Nick Bilbee, Brady Bacon, Jarett Andretti, Scotty Weir and Chase Stockon.

Adam Stricker won the modified feature race over Jerry Bowersock, Tyler Jones, David Spille and Luke Hubbell.

Huffman wins at Salem

J.T. Huffman won the super stock feature on October 4 at the Thunder Valley Raceway in Salem. Other feature winners were Blake Davis (modified), Corebin McRoberts (pure stocks), Blake Durbin (stock hornets), Brian Nance (mod lites), Shawn Durbin (outlaw hornets) and Cody Trammell (MMSA sprints).

Chamberlain takes Gas City finale

Duane Chamberlain of Richmond took the top honors in the late model feature on October 6 at the Gas City I-69 Speedway. Devin Shiels was second followed by Chad Finley, Joe Godsey and Eric Spangler.

Clayton Bryant won the modified feature at Gas City over Luke Hubbell, Scott Orr, Jerry Bowersock and Tony Anderson.

Rice takes Florence victory

Josh Rice of Verona, Kentucky won the season championships for the late models on October 5 at the Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky. Trevor Landrum finished behind Rice with Duane Chamberlain, Freddie Carpenter and Bill Sheets trailing.

Florence Speedway will hold its 2019 season finale Oct. 26 with the annual Fall 50. For more info

This week in racing history

From 40 years ago in 1979 at the Terre Haute Action Track in Terre Haute Tom Helfrich won the late model feature race over Paul Crockett, Buck Ridenour, Ray Godsey and Ira Bastin. Tony Moore edged out Russ Petro to win the hobby stock feature race. A total of 154 entries in the two divisions were on hand for the event.

Also, from 1979 at Paragon Speedway Terry Buster won the 150-lap Indiana Stock Car Championship race over Don Duncan, Steve Sutliff, Larry Taylor and Lee Fleetwood.

From 1979 the Lawrenceburg Speedway held its final race of the year as Bobby Carnes won the stock care feature over Willie Klepper, Dan Rink Len Spille and Bill McCall.

No posts to display