Several winners in local go-kart racing action

Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing had a full program Sept. 28 at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds.

Event winners were Jamison Reed (rookie), Mike Kennedy (pred), Jace Hand (jr. 3), Travis Wilburn (clone 400 and clone 380), Bradley Brown (jr. 1), Brandon Malone (vintage), Johnny Smith (rywb), Jarret Shatto (clone 340) and Colton Lucas (flathead).

Jennings County go-kart results

The Jennings County Outlaw Kart Racing had its final Friday night event of the year Sept. 27.

Winners were Norman Girard (boxstock outlaw), Clayton Howard (rwyb), Chris Buchanan (340 and 380 clone), Kyle Willis (sr. clone champ), Jacobi Clark (jr. 2), Evan Shatto (jr. 3), Parker Perry (youth pred champ), Preston Carr (jr. clone champ) and Troy Neal (flatheads).

The track at the Jennings County 4-H Fairgrounds in North Vernon will have three more scheduled events this season, all on Sundays.

Petro takes Twin Cities win

Randy Petro of Columbus won his first super stock feature of the year Sept. 28 at Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon.

Bryce Burton of Edinburgh took the hornet division shootout. Other feature winners were Joey Kramer of Hanover (crate late models), Troy Clark of North Vernon (pure stocks) and Justin Clark (RaceSaver sprints).

O’Neal wins at Brownstown

Marty O’Neal of Spencer picked up his third Brownstown Speedway pro late model win of the year Sept. 28.

For O’Neal, who drives for Larry Hartwell of North Vernon, it was his 11th overall feature win of 2019. Shelby Miles finished second with the winner’s nephew and Jackson 1009 winner, Hudson O’Neal, crossing the line in third. Steve Peeden was fourth, and Brad Barrow rounded out the top five.

Matt Boknecht of Seymour won his fifth super stock feature of the year, outrunning Jamey Wilson, Colton Sullivan, Steve Hollars and Tim Schumpe for the win.

Derek Groomer of Bloomington won his second modified feature of the season at Brownstown over Jacoby Hines, Brayden Watson, Michael Wesselman and Tim Rivers.

Rick Gumm of Tampico raced to his 14th feature win at the track this year, taking the victory over Jeremy Huebner, Zachary Stalker, Josh Hayes and Jim Ruddick.

Bill Grant of Clarksville won the hornet feature for the second time this season over Shannon Walp, Brian Mitchell, Justin Joy and Dylan Wheeler.

For information, visit

Windom wins at Gas City

Chris Windom won the second James Dean Classic for the USAC National Sprint Car Series on Sept. 26 at the Gas City I-69 Speedway in Gas City.

Tyler Courtney finished in second, followed by Justin Grant, Kevin Thomas Jr. and Chase Stockon.

Eldora holds season finale

Tyler Courtney won his record-setting fourth straight Eldora Speedway feature Sept. 28 at Tony Stewart’s facility in Rossburg, Ohio.

Chris Windom finished second to the current USAC national sprint car points leader with Justin Grant, Kevin Thomas Jr. and Brady Bacon completing the top five.

The season finale for the USAC Silver Crown Series also helped close out Eldora’s 2019 season as Bacon took the win over Thomas, Grant, Kody Swanson and Shane Cottle.

The USAC National Midgets also participated in the 4-Crown Nationals at Eldora with Courtney taking the victory over Tanner Carrick, Logan Seavey, Rico Abreu and Thomas.

The World of Outlaws Sprint Cars raced Sept. 27 at Eldora with Logan Schuchart taking the win over Aaron Reutzel, Sheldon Haudenschild, Kerry Madsen and Carson Macedo.

Reutzel was victorious Sept. 28 at Eldora, winning the All-Star Circuit of Champions sprint car feature over Cory Eliason, Giovanni Scelzi, Buddy Kofoid and Dale Blaney.

Kinser wins Paragon season finale

Jordan Kinser of Bedford won the season-ender at the Paragon Speedway on Sept. 13.

Brady Short finished second, followed by Dave Darland, Brayden Fox and Jadon Rogers.

Sheldon Oberle of Battleground won the modified feature over Jake Leitzman, Dustin Golden, Jordan Wever and James Walters. Greg Garrison of Bloomington captured the hornet division feature.

Goff wins UMRA finale

Johnny Goff won the 2019 season finale for the UMRA King of the TQ Midgets on Sept. 20 at Brownstown Speedway.

Cory Clay, the 2019 series champion, finished second, followed by Johnny Kringas, Johnny Heydenreich and Matthew Hedrick.

This week in racing history

From 40 years ago in 1979 at Brownstown Speedway, the season finale for late models was won by Ira Bastin over Ray Godsey, Tom Helfrich, Paul Crockett and Jim Curry. Crockett came back to win the hobby stock feature race over Dick Phillips, Rick Carneal, Sam Stockon and Lump Colwell.

From 20 years ago in 1999 at Brownstown, the season finale features went to David Coffman (Kenyon midgets), Todd Gilpin (modifieds) and Steve Trabue (enduro).

Also, from 1999 at Paragon Speedway ,Wayne Newlin and Shawn Krockenberger won the sprint car features. Steve Blair won the street stock main, and Robert Barger took the bomber feature.

Also, from 20 years ago at Lawrenceburg Speedway, Derek Scheffel won the sprint car feature over Lorne Raney, Troy Link, Pete Abel and Jason Knoke. Kerry Norris took the modified feature race over David Cook, Greg Beem, Alan Magner and Randy Petro. Mark Barber won the late model feature event over J.D. Largent, Marty O’Neal, Terry Eaglin and Josh Williams.

No posts to display