Forty years of the Jackson 100


This weekend marks the 40th annual Jackson 100 at the Brownstown Speedway.

The two-day spectacular of dirt track racing at the Jackson County Fairgrounds kicks off tonight with the seventh annual Bowman 50 with the winner getting $2,000. 

Gates open at 3 p.m. with driver registration lasting until 5:45. There will be a driver’s meeting at 6 p.m. before hot laps begin at 6:30. 

Racing on Friday includes the Indiana Pro Late Model Series, Modifieds, Pure Stocks, Hornets and UMRA King of the TQ’s.

Tickets are $20 for general admission with kids 12 and under getting in free with a paid adult. Pit admission for all ages is $15. 

On Saturday night, the $15,000-to-win Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned Jackson 100 will take place for the nationally known series for dirt late models. There will be heat races, B-Mains and the 100-lap main event.

There will also be a complete show for the open-wheel modifieds and super stocks.

Bobby Pierce won last year’s race, passing Jonathan Davenport as the two headed for the white flag. Pierce held off Davenport on the final lap to win the race that was bumped to Sunday afternoon due to rain.

It was the first time Pierce won the event that his father, Bob, won 16 times. Bobby Pierce currently sits 28th in points this season. 

There were four different race leaders at last year’s 39th edition of the race. Mason Zeigler and Tim McCreadie also led the race at points in addition to Davenport and Pierce. 

Admission on Saturday is $30 for adults with kids ages 6-11 costing $10. Children ages 5 and under are free. Pit admission is still $15 for all ages. 

Gates will open at noon on Saturday with hot laps starting at 6 p.m. 

Modifieds and Super Stocks will also race on Saturday in addition to the Jackson 100. 

Columbus’ Devin Gilpin, last weekend’s Jackson 100 Tuneup winner, sits at No. 1 in the Super Late Models standings and has an 81-point lead on Shelby Miles. 

The rest of the top 10 in Super Late Models is: Jared Bailey, Steve Godsey, Brad Barrow, Chad Stapleton, Austin Burns, Greg Johnson, Dusty Chapman and Karlie Holt. 

Tim Rivers is the current points leader in the Modfieds category and had a 400-point lead on Lucas Wehmiller. Following him are: Brayden Watson, Jarod Deckard, Jarod Fleetwood, Dennis Boknecht, Jeremy Owns, Ryan Thomas, Jacoby Hines and Earl Plessinger.

In Super Stocks, Tim Schumpe is the points leader but is barely holding onto it with just a 60-point lead over Steve Hollars. 

Matt Boknecht isn’t too far behind in third; followed by Tucker Chastain, Brad Frye, Webb Lee, Zach Sasser, Jamey Wilson, Tommy East and Sam Lee. 

For information, visit

No posts to display