Columbus racer picks up another Twin Cities win


Logan Hupp of Columbus won the sprint car feature on August 31 at the Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon. Other feature winners were Joey Kramer of Hanover (crate late models), Andy Anderson of North Vernon, Dusten Carr of Underwood (pure stocks) and Brandon Gibson Jr. of Dry Ridge, Kentucky (sport mods).

Twin Cities will be racing tonight with a hornet special along with crate late models, modifieds, super stocks and pure stocks.

Stewart wins at

Rushville and Plymouth

Tony Stewart won the UMRA King of the TQ Midgets First Annual Brad Gray Memorial Race on September 2 at the Rush County Fairgrounds in Rushville. C.J. Leary finished second to Stewart with Joey Paxson, Jerry Coons Jr. and Austin Nigh trailing the Columbus native across the finish line.

The next UMRA King of the TQ Midgets event will be on September 13 at the Thunder Valley Raceway in Salem.

On August 31 Stewart was in his No. 14 winged Ford-powered sprint car as he captured the IRA Outlaw Sprint Series event at the Plymouth Dirt Track in Plymouth, Wisconsin.

In 57 starts this season in his sprint car Stewart has nine wins, 26 top-five finishes and 33 top-10 finishes.

Several winners in

Columbus go-karts

The Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing held the Burris Midwest Dirt Classic on August 30 and 31 at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds.

Division winners on August 30 were Zach Roell (rookie), Elijah Knoke (jr. 1), Kayla Roell (jr. 3), Scott Roccia (flathead), Mo Reel (sr. champ), Kevin Cunningham (clone 365), Michael Wade (clone 400), and Johnny Smith (rwyb).

Division winners on August 31 were Jacob Chadd (rookie), Dylan Trost (jr. 1), Kayla Roell (jr. 3), Gene Wheeler (flathead), Lance Dubois (sr. champ), Joey Baker (340 clone),Mike Dickerson (clone 365 and clone 380), Mike Sullivan (clone 400), Johnny Smith (rwyb), Richard Frazee (pred) and Oliver Osborn (jr. champ).

Tonight, Columbus Go-Kart Racing will be in action. Grandstand admission is free.

Brownstown results

Joe Reed captured the $1,000 to win hornet special on August 31 at the Brownstown Speedway. Owen Cosman finished in second followed by Kenny Poole, Bill Grant and points leader Trent Adams.

Brad Barrow of Bloomington won the pro late model feature over Justin Shaw, Steve Peeden, Tyler Neal and Shelby Miles. Barrow drives a car owned by Roe Dale Burton of Edinburgh.

Derek Groomer of Bloomington nabbed the open wheel modified feature over Bryan Barber, Jeremy Owens, Jacoby Hines and Tim Prince.

Seymour’s Jamey Wilson took the top honors in the super stock division outdistancing Mike Fields, Tucker Chastain, Tim Schumpe and Matt Boknecht for the win.

Rick Gumm of Tampico won the pure stock feature taking the victory over Josh Hayes, Zachary Stalker, David Palmer and Tory Routier.

Brownstown will be idle tonight. The next scheduled race is set for September 14 as the tune-up for the Jackson 100 will take place. On the schedule will be super late models, pro late models, modifieds, super stocks and pure stocks. The 40th Annual Jackson 100 for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be on September 21 paying $15,000 to win.

Kinser wins at Bloomington finale

Jordan Kinser of Bedford won the Bob Kinser Memorial at the Bloomington Speedway on August 30. Isaac Chappell was second followed by Brady Short. Max Adams and Tye Mihocko completed the top-five drivers.

Tucker Chastain of Bedford captured the super stock feature over Josh Divine, Tyler Neal, Kenny Carmichael Jr. and Aubrey Mounce.

Brandon McDowell notched the win in the open wheel modified feature over Blaze Melton, Jordan Wever, John Clippinger and Jacoby Hines.

The Bob Kinser Memorial Race concluded the 2019 racing season at Bloomington Speedway.

Bilbee wins Lawrenceburg

Nick Bilbee of Indianapolis won his second straight sprint car feature on August 31 at the Lawrenceburg Speedway. Dickie Gaines finished in second followed by Joss Moffatt, Tyler Kendall and Sterling Cling.

Matt Hamilton of Aurora won the modified feature over Kyle Schornick, Pete Holt, Adam Stricker and David Spille.

Other winners at Lawrenceburg last Saturday were Cordell Moore (hornets) and Mike Ackman (pure stocks).

Lawrenceburg will be off tonight. Their next scheduled event is set for September 14 with a regular show of sprints, modifieds, pure stocks and hornets. For more info

Johnson wins at Salem

Greg Johnson of Bedford won his first career MARS Late Model Series race on August 30 at the Thunder Valley Raceway in Salem. Devin Gilpin of Columbus finished second with David Seibers, Shelby Miles and Dean Carpenter completing the top five. Troy Clark of North Vernon won the pure stock feature.

Canadian wins at Eldora

Canada’s Ricky Weiss dominated the Baltes Classic on September 1 at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. Weiss earned $5,000 for the win. Freddie Carpenter finished second with Zack Dohm, Jimmy Mars and Ashton Winger completing the top five.

The 49th Annual World 100 will take place tonight at Eldora Speedway. A $52,000 payday for the winner of the dirt late model racings’ most prestigious race. There will be six qualifying heat races tonight along with two B-features. Tim McCreadie is the defending champion of the race. For more information go to

This week in racing history

From 50 years ago in 1969 at Brownstown Speedway the winner of the 100-lap late model feature was Kenny Simpson over Paul Crockett, Bill Kimmel, Gerald Dixon and Steve Bowlen.

Also, from 1969 at Bloomington Speedway the sprint car feature went to Butch Wilkerson over Rex Mitchell and Sheldon Kinser.

At Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt from 1969 it was Rex Mitchell winning the sprint car feature over Cliff Cockrum and Butch Wilkerson.

From 40 years ago in 1979 at Brownstown Doug Ault won the late model feature over Bob Fleetwood, Steve Trabue, Lump Colwell and Dennis Boknecht. Jack Taylor won the hobby stock main event over Cooley Singer, Roger Hehman, Marvin Strong and Bob Henderson.

Also, from 1979 at Twin Cities it was Ray Godsey winning the late model feature over John Sparks, Dee Kramer, Johnny Robbins and Carl Collins.

From 40 years ago in 1979 at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville the late model feature winner was Pete Willoughby over Jim Curry and Jack Taylor.

No posts to display