Paris Crossing alumni gather for reunion

The 48th annual Paris Crossing High School alumni banquet, represented by the three former schools of Lovett, Marion and Paris Crossing, was June 28 at The Pines Evergreen Room in Seymour with 130 alumni and guests attending.

Registration and the social hour began at 5 p.m.

Dawn Davis Johnson and granddaughter Kate Johnson led the group in the song "God Bless America."

President Richard Young welcomed attendees, prayer was led by Johnson and dinner followed.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]Click here to purchase photos from this gallery

The presentation of three $500 scholarships was made by Jane Kinder Reynolds and Sharon Hughes Galliher. The scholarships are awarded to graduating seniors who live in Lovett, Marion or Montgomery townships in Jennings County. Since 1993, 58 students have received scholarships through the program.

Those receiving scholarships this year were Jonathan Kipper, the son of David and Jennifer Kipper, who will attend Purdue University; Karlee Madinger, the daughter of Paul and Ellen Madinger, who will attend Coastal Alabama Community College South; and Morgan Manning, the daughter of Greg and Lauren Manning, who will attend Purdue University.

Any donations made to the scholarship fund through March 2020 will receive a 50% match. The goal is $50,000 for a perpetual fund providing scholarships for future graduating seniors. Contributions may be sent to Paris Crossing Alumni, c/o Mary Lou Nugent, 5130 N. Kings Way, North Vernon, IN 47265.

Louise Malcomb of the Jennings County Historical Society is researching Jennings County schools and seeking any information, old yearbooks, photos, buildings and classes to share for this project. Contact her at [email protected] or 812-346-8989.

Nedra Nolte Short gave the secretary report, Nugent gave the treasurer report and the slate of 2020 officers were elected.

The officers are president, Niles Layman; first vice president, Ray Hughes; second vice president, Young; secretary, Short; treasurer, Nugent; publicity, Young; nominations, Hughes; memoriam, Fairy Rose Ray McGuire and Mollie Flo Carson Corbin; banquet committee, Galliher; scholarship committee, Reynolds, Galliher and Margaret Maupin Hendricks; and programs, Reynolds, Judith Kinder Smith and Malcomb.

The honored classes were recognized. Attending from the 70-year class of 1949 was Lois Davis Hammond. Those attending from the 60-year Class of 1959 were Glenn Peck, Jean Hoffman Childs, Josephine Hoffman Horne and Ronald V. Harrison.

Starting in 2020, honor classes will be 75-, 70-, 65- and 60-year graduating classes.

The oldest alumnus present was Doris Darin Stahl. Peck was the alumni traveling the greatest distance, coming from Shawnee, Oklahoma. All teachers and military veterans were recognized.

The memorial service for the deceased members of this year was conducted by Mollie Carson Corbin assisted by great-granddaughter Kate Johnson and Dawn Davis Johnson.

Deceased members are Ralph Foster Dodd 1945, Mary Lou Corbin Wilkerson 1947, Grace Malott Morin 1949, Edith Douglas Corbin 1951, Beatrice Stone Simmons 1953, Diana Green 1954, Bill Callahan 1954, Stella Johnson Rothermel 1954, Shelvia Lane 1955, Chester Lane 1955, Ralph Simmons, 1955, Dennis James, 1957, Harry "Rodney" Mullikin Sr. 1959, Donald Sinkes 1960, Lois Pauline Malcomb Tylicki 1963, Ronald Sparkman 1963 and Gary Green 1968.

The evening was completed by announcing the successful bidders of the silent auction, prayer by Young and Johnson leading the alumni by singing "Amazing Grace."

The 2020 alumni will be June 26 at The Pines Evergreen Room in Seymour.