Local ballot features record number of third party candidates


A record number of third party candidates will appear on the ballot during the Seymour’s general election on Nov. 5.

The filing period for petitions for third party candidates ended at noon Monday and the deadline for Democrats and Republicans to file for vacancies was noon Wednesday.

The four independent candidates who will appear on the ballot are Eric J. DiBlasi Jr. for one of the two city council at-large seats; incumbent David Earley for District 5; Chad D. Malone for District 2; and Marcus Sewell for District 3.

Two Libertarians, Erin M. Meadors and Richard R. Meadors, are running for at-large council seats. The couple regularly attend city council meetings.

That has set up a seven-way race for the two at-large seats.

DiBlasi and the Meadors, will face off against Democratic incumbent Lloyd Hudson, Democrat Joshua Ratliff and Republicans Bret M. Cunningham and Drew Storey.

Hudson and Cunningham were appointed to the ballot following the May 7 primary.

Others appointed to the ballot were Republicans Matthew Wheeler, who will challenge incumbent Democrat John J. Reinhart for the District 1 seat, and Michael S. Fickert, who will challenge Earley for the District 5 seat.

Democrat Ollie Knott was appointed to the ballot for District 3 and will face Republican Chad Hubbard.

Republican Seth Davidson, who defeated incumbent Jim Rebber in the primary, will be unopposed in the District 4 race.

The ballot now features seven contested races for the election: mayor, clerk-treasurer, all of the district council seats, excepts District 4, and the two at-large council seats.

No third party candidates filed for either mayor or city clerk-treasurer.

The mayor’s race features political newcomer, Rexanne Ude, who is a Democrat, against Republican Matthew Nicholson, the District 2 councilman, while Democrat Robin Carpenter will face Republican Darrin Boas in the clerk-treasurer’s race.

Candidates for Brownstown, Crothersville and Medora have until Aug. 1 to file for election for council seats and clerk-treasurer offices. The parties will then conduct conventions for races that have too many candidates for an office.

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”At a glance” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

The 2019 General Election ballot for the city of Seymour



Rexanne Ude


Matthew Nicholson



Robin Carpenter


Darrin Boas

Council at large


Lloyd Hudson

Joshua L. Raliff


Bret M. Cunningham

Drew Storey


Eric J. DiBlasi, Jr.


Erin M. Meadors

Richard R. Meadors

Council District 1


John J. Reinhart


Matthew Wheeler

Council District 2


Jerry Hackney


Chad D. Malone

Council District 3


Ollie Knott


Chad Hubbard


Marcus Sewell

Council District 4


Seth Davidson

Council District 5


Michael S. Fickert


David Earley


No posts to display