Hoosier Educators Scholarship winners announced


The Tribune Staff Reports

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education has awarded 200 scholarships to the third class of Next Generation Hoosier Educators.

The recipients, selected through a competitive process based on academic achievement and other factors, will receive $7,500 annually (up to $30,000 total) for committing to teach in Indiana for at least five years after graduating college.

Jackson County recipients, their school and the university they plan to attend are:

Rebekah Franke, Seymour High School, Indiana University

Cassidy Isaacs, Brownstown Central High School, University of Indianapolis

Sophie Kreis, Brownstown Central High School, Indiana University

Courtney Mansfield, Seymour High School, Indiana University

Abigail Martin, Columbus East High School, Indiana University

Megan Pottschmidt, Trinity Lutheran High School, Indiana University Southeast

Jennifer Runge, Brownstown Central High School, Indiana State University

Colin Sons, Seymour High School, Indiana State University

A total of 393 students applied for the 2019-20 Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship with applications coming from 212 high schools in 82 of Indiana’s 92 counties. More than 80% of applicants were Indiana high school seniors with the remainder comprised of current college students.

To qualify for the scholarship, students had to either graduate in the highest 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. To continue earning the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

Information: in.gov/che/4680.htm

No posts to display