Raises approved for Crothersville town employees, council members



A new year will bring a bump in pay for several Crothersville officials.

The Crothersville Town Council recently approved giving raises to nine employees and the five council members, starting in January 2019.

Initially, Councilman Lenvel “Butch” Robinson suggested three full-time police officers, a town hall employee and four men who work for the street and water departments to earn 50 cents more on their hourly rates.

“Fifty cents, I would think that would make people happy,” he said.

Robinson also suggested another town hall employee, second deputy Becky Butler, receive $2.50 more per hour to bring her hourly rate to $15.

Councilman Bob Lyttle then said he thought the new police chief, Matt Browning, should receive $1 more per hour. The council recently appointed him to that role after Brent Turner resigned.

“Because he’s got a lot of work to do, and he’s got a lot of responsibility on him, and we need to pay him for it,” Lyttle said of Browning. “If the chief’s job is done right, it is not easy.”

The council then unanimously approved all of the proposed pay increases.

Browning’s new hourly rate will be $21.25, while Assistant Police Chief Chris Cooper will make $17.50 per hour, and Officer Alan Jones will make $16.50. The town is in the process of hiring a fourth full-time officer with Browning moving up to chief.

Michele Teipen, the office manager at the town hall, will see her pay go up to $16.69 per hour.

Wastewater Superintendent Mason Boicourt will earn $20.81 per hour, and Street Superintendent Chris Mains will receive $19.49 per hour. Also in those departments, Roger Jewell will make $18.75 per hour, and Mike Deaton’s hourly rate will be $17.

In the last action of the meeting, Robinson suggested each of the council members receive $50 more per month for attending meetings. The new rate of $300 also passed unanimously.

No posts to display