Arkansas racer wins $10,000 at Brownstown Speedway


Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Arkansas, outran the field of super late models on Saturday night at the Brownstown Speedway to win the Hall of Fame Classic.

The win, for the son of Hall-of-Famerr Billy Moyer, was worth $10,000.

The 30-year-old racer, behind the wheel of his Crop Production Services/Pro Power Engines/Longhorn Chassis, beat Tanner English of Benton, Kentucky, to the finish line for the win in front of a large crowd of spectators.

A caution with five laps to go bunched the field up behind Moyer, and English would have a shot at stealing the win away from him. However, on the restart, Moyer pulled away enough despite English’s best effort which fell just short.

Kent Robinson, the previous night’s winner at Bloomington Speedway, was third with Michael Kloos of Trenton, Illinois, finishing in fourth and Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Kentucky, taking fifth.

In preliminary events for the 27-car field it was Moyer Jr. setting fast time at 13.169 seconds. Heat races were won by Moyer Jr., Kloos and English.

Steve Casebolt won the B-Main.

Mike Fields of Scottsburg made it 6-for-6 this year, as the Jackson County native remained perfect on the season.

In six starts in 2018 Fields as won every time he has raced at Brownstown.

He ran away with the $1,000 to win main event on Saturday night, as the veteran driver had a comfortable margin of victory at the finish.

Colton Sullivan of Columbus finished in second with Jason Hehman of Brownstown taking third. The rest of the top five finishers were Jack Frye of Bloomington and J.T. Huffman of Salem.

Fields and Hehman won super stock heat races.

Tyler Nicely of Owensboro, Kentucky, won his third consecutive open wheel modified feature at Brownstown as he dominated the 20-lap main event earning $1,000 for the win.

The Bluegrass State racer outran Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ryan Thomas of Brownstown, Peyton Harlow of Glasgow, Kentucky and Jeremy Hines of Seymour for the win.

In heat race action the winners were Nicely, Harlow and Gilpin. Dave Baldwin of Perrysville won the B- Main.

Rick Gumm of Crothersville continued to dominate the pure stock class, as he easily handled the field in winning his third straight main event.

Gumm had a healthy lead at finish line as he won over Derek Clegg of Nabb, Will McRoberts of Madison, Keaton Streeval of Edinburgh and Jim Ruddick of Seymour.

Clegg and Gumm were heat race winners in the division.

On Saturday Night the track inducted Sam and Webb Lee, Rodney Harris Sr. and Steve Trabue into the Brownstown Speedway Hall-of-Fame.

Brownstown Speedway will be off this coming Saturday. Racing will resume on August 18.

For more info

Robinson wins at Bloomington


Hometown driver Kent Robinson won the super late model feature on August 3 at the Bloomington Speedway.

Robinson earned $3,000 for his second straight MARS Late Model victory. It was the first super late model race at the track since 2007.

The event drew 22 entrants and a large crowd of spectators on the hill of the legendary facility.

In a very competitive feature from start to finish Robinson was the final leader of three different drivers who held the lead during the 40-lap affair.

Robinson, much to the cheering support of the local fan contingent took his JB’s Salvage/JB’s Disposal/MB Customs chassis to victory lane after a hard-fought battle with Tanner English of Benton, Kentucky.

Michael Kloos of Trenton, Illinois was third and Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Arkansas and Nick Hoffman of Mooresville, North Carolina completed the top five finishers.

Completing the top ten were Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Tim Manville of Highland, Illinois, Adam Bowman of Seymour, Dean Carpenter of Coldwater, Mississippi and Brad Barrow of Bloomington.

In preliminary action English set fast time and won his heat race. Other heat race winner were Hoffman and Robinson.

Josh Harris of Utica, Kentucky won the open wheel modified feature besting Devin Gilpin, Jordan Wever of Bloomington, James Walters of Mooresville and Josh Boller of Greencastle.

In the super stock division Josh Divine of Loogootee took home the top honors in the final points race for the class in 2018.

Matt Bex of Avoca driving a car owned by Tucker Chastain of Bedford finished in second with Steve Hollars of Bloomington taking third ahead of Trey Chastain of Bedford and Steve Hawkins of Bloomington.

Jason Hehman of Brownstown won the points championship for the first time in his career.

No posts to display