Tampico High School alumni hold annual reunion in Brownstown


By Tribune Staff Reports

The Tampico High School reunion was April 20 at Pewter Hall in Brownstown with 135 former students, family and friends present.

Dr. Stephen Cunningham, master of ceremonies for the evening, welcomed everyone and led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Alice Mae Elliott Woodhull of Greensburg and a Tampico High School graduate gave the invocation before the dinner was served at 6 p.m.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]Click here to purchase photos from this gallery

Former Tampico High School cheerleaders led in the singing of the school song. All veterans in attendance were thanked with applause for their military service to our country.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of deceased classmates since the last reunion, including Paul David Hill, Gerald Hackman, Howard Empson, Wayne Tormoehlen, Sam Deaton, Robert Rosemeyer, Shelby Klinge Pardieck, Roy Robbins, Lucille King Miller, Jayne Beldon Nierman, Helen Tatlock Harbin, Melvin Tatlock, Mattie Bowling Towns and Gary Cleveland.

Cunningham introduced his mother, Earline Beldon Cunningham, who graduated in 1938 from Tampico High School and also was a teacher there for two years after graduating from college. He also told of other schools where she had taught, and they talked about the good old days on the farm.

A bouquet of spring flowers was presented to “Miss Earline” in honor of 80 years since she graduated high school and her birthday in May.

Jon Robison, son of Tampico High School teacher and basketball coach Robert L. “Bob” Robison, was introduced and spoke of his father’s years at Tampico.

Special recognition was given to students in the classes of 1938, 1948, 1958 and 1968. Those present were, Class of 1938, Earline Beldon Cunningham; Class of 1948, Wilbert Wessel Jr. and Gladys Otte Burchell; Class of 1958, Harry Elliott, Betty Hackman Lucas and Roland Sturgeon; and Class of 1968, Betty Sierp Peters, Judy Strong Gambrel, Rita Hoevener Wischmeier, Beverly Blair Babbs, Janet Whitson Burchell, Larry Stahl, Jerry McKain and Claude Morgan.

Also attending were Larry Babbs, Tom and Janet Bolton, Max Gambrel, Norma Lee Neukam, Donald Sturgeon, David Sturgeon, Ron and Opal Roark, Buck and Charlotte Keith, Tabitha Ashcraft, Doris Kleine-Ray, Melissa Kleine, Carol Otte, Dorothy Richards, Glenn and Carol Deaton, Michael and Audra Deaton, Jean Stark, Margie Oliver, Montie and Barbara Prince, Janet Kelsch, Jon and Peggy Robison, Brad and Cindi Lucas, Francis and Lavonda Elliott, Ron and Peggy Broshears, Wayne Wischmeier, Clarence and Patricia Stuckwisch, Bennie Deaton, Ronald Cunningham, Richard and Carolyn Peters, Will and Linda Hackman, Jimmie and Maribell Hickerson, Harold and Joan Hackman, Ann Burchell, Donna Wessel, Harlann Peters, Richard and Nina Hackman, Bart and Donna Maxie, Eugene and Sue Peters, Gene and Linda Robbins, Doris Otte, Delores Frost, Sharon Baldwin, Catherine Mantz, Anita Sturgeon, Phyllis Turner, Joyce Cravens, Velma Nierman, Harriett Hickerson, Jane Allen, David and Sandy Hackman, Doris Frey and Peggy Sprague.

Also, Shannon Deaton, Don and Jackie Hoevener, Donna Downing, Duane Melloncamp, Delbert and Alberta Tormoehlen, Gary and Becky Allen, Robert and Violet Wischmeier, Lucy Prince, Joyce Wright, Beverly Jones, Angela McKain, Martha Morgan, Brenda Wright, Carolyn Wolka, Bill Wessel, Kelso and Judith Wessel, Wilma Benter, Ron Wischmeier, Curtis and Deborah Stahl, Becky Stahl, Jerry Lucas, Rita Elliott, Melvin and Marjorie Bishop, Loretta Hoevener, Barbara Huffman, Carol Crump, Cindy Gambrel, Wayne Woodhull, Eugene and Brenda Bobb, Carolyn Jones, Alice Hutcheson, Curt and Sarah Benter, Wilbur Lee Hoevener, Joyce Lucas, Betty Noel, Woodard and Veronica Bowling, Richard Tormoehlen and Robert Tatlock.

The 2019 reunion will be April 19 at Pewter Hall in Brownstown.

No posts to display