Brownstown Speedway has busy weekend leading up to fair races


For The Tribune


The Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series was on hand at Brownstown Speedway on Saturday night, paying $2,000 to the winner of the feature event.

Owensboro, Kentucky driver Tyler Nicely picked up the lead on the opening lap of the 30-lap main event and cruised to victory over nearby Trent Young.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

The victory marked Nicely’s second career win at Brownstown.

“This car has been awesome right out of the box, we won last week at Lawrenceburg and we backed it up here tonight,’ Nicely said. “I can’t say enough about my crew and just everybody that makes this deal possible.”

Nicely won last weekends Merrill Downey Memorial at Lawrenceburg Speedway, collecting $4,444 for the triumph at the facility.

Nicely and Devin Gilpin were scheduled to lead the field to green, but a mechanical failure on the opening pace laps ended Gilpin’s bid for his fifth Brownstown win this season.

“It’s unfortunate, we had a battery box break off. It’s crazy, I’ve never had that happen to me before,” Gilpin said.

Nicely and Young were the class of the field, breaking away in a two-car battle for the entire race.

Nicely utilized the bottom of the racing surface while Young used high side momentum to keep pace.

Adam Stricker would take the third position, with Scott James finishing fourth and Brian Shaw rounding out the top five.

Josh Harris was overall fast time in qualifying, breaking his old track record with a time of 14.678 seconds.

Harris suffered a mechanical failure and was unable to start the feature event.

Gilpin’s early misfortunes were short lived as he would go on to pick up the feature win in the E-Z Lift Super Late Model feature event, his third win of the season at Brownstown in the division.

Tanner English finished in the runner up spot behind Gilpin, after briefly taking the lead prior to a caution flag. Gilpin jumped back to the lead and cruised to victory.

David Webb, Chad Stapleton, and Shelby Miles rounded out the top five finishers.

When the dust settled on the drama filled Print Worx ILMS Pro Late Model feature event, Stapleton arose victorious, notching his fourth mark in the win column this season.

Past feature winners Tyler Cain and Tyler Neal exchanged blows while battling for the lead.

Cain pressured Neal for the lead spot coming out of turn number two, cars touching and nearly spinning out of control.

Cain broke free of Neal and took the lead, but contact going into turn three sent both cars spinning off the racing surface, ultimately giving Stapleton the race lead.

Both Cain and Neal, who are first and second in the series points standings, were disqualified for rough driving and sent pit side.

Steve Peeden, Steve Godsey, Raymond Humphrey, and Skyller Lewis rounded out the top five.

Mike Fields picked up his fourth win of the season at Brownstown in the Woolston Automotive Super Stock division, making him 3-for-3 in the Brandeis Super Series mini-series.

“Right now, we just have it going on. We had a tough week last week but we rebounded and got it done tonight,” said Fields, who started in the fourth starting position.

Colton Sullivan, Jason Hehman, Tim Schumpe, and Aubrey Eagan completed the top five. Hehman leads the points standings over Sullivan, Eagan, and Schumpe.

Tampico’s Rick Gumm notched his first tally into the win column this season after dominating the Pewter Hall Pure Stock feature over Derek Clegg, Jeremy Huebner, Zachary Stalker, and Keaton Streeval.

Brownstown Speedway will be off this Saturday night for Jackson County Fair setup.

Racing action resumes on July 26 for the Thursday Thunder grandstand event for the Jackson County Fair.

Indiana Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks, and Hornets will all be in competition.

No posts to display