BIG WEEKEND: Gilpin dominates races at Brownstown Speedway

For The Tribune


Devin Gilpin pulled off the equivalent of a perfect game last Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway on Staff Management Night.

Gilpin swept the heat and feature events in both Super Late Model and Modified competition for the second time this season.

“It was a good night, I can’t thank all of the people who help me out and make this whole deal possible,” said Gilpin in victory lane.

He previously doubled up his wins on April 20.

Gilpin’s success continued on Sunday as he traveled to Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio and picked up the feature win in the Johnny Appleseed Classic.

The event, which paid $3,000 to the winner, which serves as the final tune-up for the $100,000 to win Dream at Eldora June 7-9.

“This is a big boost coming in here in a couple of weeks,” Gilpin said.”We’ve been coming here the first couple of nights to get better and make the Dream and man we made all of the right adjustments tonight.”

In Brownstown, Seymour’s Adam Bowman, who made his first start of the season at the speedway, finished in the second position. Bowman has two starts this season at Farmer City Raceway in Farmer City, Illinois.

Edinburgh’s Chad Stapleton charged from the 12th starting position to finished third behind Gilpin and Bowman. Alan Magner and Matt Bex rounded out the top five.

In the Modified feature, Jeremy Owens finished second behind Gilpin ahead of Adam Stricker, Matt Boknecht, and Dennis Boknecht.

Matt currently leads the points standings over his father Dennis with Owens in third.

Stapleton swept the night in the Indiana Pro Late Model Series, picking up wins in both heat and feature racing action.

“This class is just so competitive, our car was really good and it’s just fun racing with these guys,” Stapleton said.

Seymour’s Tyler Cain finished second with Shelby Miles in third.

Mike Fields visited victory lane for the second weekend in a row in the Super Stock division, besting Jason Hehman, Tim Schumpe, Aubrey Eagan, and Colton Sullivan for the win.

“I almost gave up on this car after last season, but it’s really turned out to be awesome. Jim Price gave us a really good track tonight,” Fields said.

Seymour’s Jim Ruddick became the fifth different winner in as many races in the Pure Stock division, picking up his first feature win of the season.

Houston Roark, Jeremy Huebner, Keaton Streeval, and Roger Absher rounded out the top five.

The Ultimate Battle of the Bluegrass Super Late Model Series will be in competition this

Saturday night at the speedway, paying $3,000 to the feature winner in their first visit of the season.

The regional travelling series opened up their racing season last weekend at Daugherty Speedway in Boswell, Indiana.

Evans, Georgia driver Brandon Overton picked up the feature win over Kent Robinson, Tanner English, and Chad Stapleton.

Robinson, English, and Stapleton are all expected entrants into Saturday night’s event that will also feature the Indiana Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks, and MMSA Mini-Sprints.