Speedway hosts “Night at the Races”


For The Tribune


Five drivers took their rides to victory lane at Brownstown Speedway on Saturday night for the “Night at the Races” event, presented by John Jones Auto Group.

Shelby Miles was the class of the field in the Super Late Model division, picking up his first feature win of the season over Matt Bex and Jared Bailey.

“This is a good way to get started,” Miles said. “I would just like to think the fans that are here tonight for coming out and supporting us and Jim Price for keeping this Super (Late Model) deal going here, the track turned out pretty good tonight.”

Ryan Thomas earned his first win of the season in the Modified division, piloting his own Diamond Racecars entry to the checkers.

This was the first win for Thomas at Brownstown since the 2014 racing season.

Thomas credited his decision to run the top groove of the racetrack versus the bottom as the reason he won the race.

“We’ve led a lot of laps and got beat here by cars on the top,” said Thomas, who hails from Brownstown, said.

When we took off on the top I thought we better stay here, and the more the race went on the better it got.

Thomas recently formed his own operation and is happy with the results thus far.

“This is the first time we’ve had our own deal going since 2013 and we’ve had two seconds and a win, so I’m excited,” he said.

Jeremy Owens, Jeremy Hines, Jacoby Hines, and Matt Boknecht followed Thomas to the checkers.

Marty O’Neal took advantage of a lap 16 mishap by Seymour’s Tyler Cain to pick up his first win of the season in the Indiana Pro Late Model Series feature event.

Cain led the first half of the race before slipping of the racing surface in turn three, allowing O’Neal to take the top spot.

O’Neal crossed the finish line believing that he was still in the second position behind Cain.

“I didn’t even know I won,” O’Neal said. “I was like, ‘when did I pass Tyler?’ I didn’t even know. We had a heck of a race car tonight; my guys have worked their butts off this week.”

Steve Godsey, Tyler Neal, Miles and Cain rounded out the top five finishers.

Dusten Carr won the Pure Stock feature edging last weeks’ winner Houston Roark for the win.

“That was fun,” Carr said. “I didn’t ever think we would be back here again, we lost power steering on the third lap and my arms feel like their dragging the ground.”

Carr was the 2013 Pure Stock track champion at Brownstown.

Roark, Josh Hayes, William Burton, and Keaton Streeval completed the top five.

Preparing for this weeks’ Scott Patman Memorial race, Matt Boknecht picked up the feature win in the Super Stock division.

Boknecht, who has won two of the three Scott Patman Memorial events, normally competes in the Modified division but was testing the Super Stock for the upcoming special event.

“This is the car I won a whole bunch of races in a couple of years ago, it’s like putting on an old pair of pants, it felt like I was right back at home,” Boknecht said.

Jason Hehman, Aubrey Eagan, Branden Carr, and Tim Schumpe rounded out the top five.

The Scott Patman Memorial event is up next for the speedway. The Super Stock special event enters its fourth year of existence, with Josh Divine as the defending winner.

Indiana Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks, and Hornets are all scheduled to compete during Saturday night’s event.

For complete details, visit www.brownstownspeedway.com.

No posts to display