Perry picked as Seymour’s MVP as Owls honor basketball teams

Hoosier Hills Conference coaches conducted their meeting last Sunday to select the all-conference team.

Seymour coach Tyler Phillips said when it was his turn to nominate his players, and he mentioned Alan Perry, he was interrupted by New Albany coach Jim Shannon.

Shannon told his fellow HHC coaches that Perry would make every team in the conference better, including his Bulldogs.

On Wednesday night, Perry was named the Owls’ most valuable player and received several other special honors at the awards program in the school cafeteria when the varsity, junior varsity and freshmen teams were honored as well as the cheerleaders.

Perry was named to the HHC first team.

He received the CARDS award Wednesday night. Phillips said that stands for charges, assists, rebounds, deflections and steals. He had 313 points in those categories.

Perry also received the toughness award for showing his toughness on the floor, and the assists award for having 148 assists this year (sixth most in a season in school history). He holds the career record at 401.

He also received the mental attitude award and was named co-recipient of the Barney Scott Mental Attitude Award, along with Ty McCory.

Phillips said of Perry, “He’s the best leader I’ve ever coached. He was Mr. Incredible. There will never be another one like Alan Perry.”

Perry ranked second on the team in scoring this winter at 14.4 points per game and had high games of 19 points against Franklin and Jennings County (twice), and 18 against Whiteland and Charlestown.

McCory, in addition to sharing the Barney Scott Award, received the offensive player of the year award and set the school record for 3-pointers in a season with 73. He shot 46 percent from 3-point range.

“He is the most fundamental kid I’ve coached,” Phillips said. “He had tireless work ethic. Great shooters are not born, they’re made.”

He scored 30 points against Austin, 27 against Jennings County, 26 against Salem and 25 against Switzerland County and topped the Owls in scoring at 15.5 per game.

Zach Moore received the outstanding defensive player award, and Eddie Louden and Max Otte were co-winners of the most improved award.

Perry, McCory and Tiller Cummings served as team captains this season.

“This group of six seniors got to me emotionally,” Phillips said. “It’s been a great year. We had the most wins since 2006-07.”

The team was 12-12 this season.

Junior varsity coach Buddy Hall introduced members of his team and named Eric McCoy as team MVP, Owen Marshall as the defensive player of the year, Jayden Brown as the most improved player, and Colin Madden as winner of the mental attitude award.

Freshman coach Dustin George named Brandon Kleber as MVP of the freshman team, Brycen Baugh as the outstanding defensive player, and Ryan Elmore as recipient of the mental attitude award.

Cheerleader coach Julie Rueger introduced the cheerleaders and said Janet Taguchi, Grace Rueger and Kaylyn Stidham were named to the All-American squad at a camp last summer and participated in a parade in London, England during the holidays.

Taguchi was named Miss Seymour and received the mental attitude award Wednesday night, Destinee Ross was named most improved, and Grace Rueger received the leadership award.

No posts to display