Crothersville council selects new leader


A new year brings a new leader of the Crothersville Town Council.

During Tuesday night’s meeting at the town hall, Danieta Foster was selected to serve as president for 2018. She was elected to the council in the November 2015 election and began serving in January 2016, when the council changed from three to five members.

Her new role came after a 4-1 vote. Lenvel “Butch” Robinson, who had served as president since 2016, cast the lone dissenting vote. Robinson was elected to the council in November 2011 and began serving in 2012.

On Tuesday night, Councilwoman Brenda Holzworth made a motion to retain Robinson as president, but it died for lack of a second. Councilman Bob Lyttle then made a motion to make Foster president, and that gained a second and passed 4-1.

Chad Wilson was elected vice president on a 4-1 vote, again with Robinson casting the lone nay vote.

The council also made other appointments during the meeting.

Wilson, Holzworth and Charlie Densford will remain on the safety board; Robinson will continue to serve on the Jackson County Solid Waste Management District committee; Duane Davis will be the town’s Indiana Department of Homeland Security representative; and Curt Kovener will remain the town’s Jackson County Industrial Development Corp. representative.

No posts to display