Columbus Area Arts Council makes Region 9 grants

Tribune Staff Reports

Leaders of the Columbus Area Arts Council will celebrate more than $90,000 in Indiana Arts Commission Region 9 grants to 15 area organizations.

That will occur during a 4 p.m. Oct. 11 ceremony at the Columbus Area Visitors Center.

Three Jackson County organizations will receive $17,356.

The commission works with 11 regional arts partners to promote and expand participation in the arts in Indiana. Through this partnership, the local nonprofit arts council provides arts services and funding opportunities to organizations in Region 9, covering Bartholomew, Dearborn, Decatur, Franklin, Jackson, Jennings, Ohio, Ripley and Switzerland counties.

The arts council itself has received $12,641 from the commission, according to the commission’s website.

The Region 9 organizations that have received 2018 Regional Arts Partnership grants are:

Southern Indiana Center for the Arts: Jackson County, $7,356

Actors Community Theater of Seymour: $5,000

Jackson County Community Theatre: $5,000

Columbus Indiana Philharmonic: $13,959

Dancers Studio Inc., Columbus: $7,356

Ethnic Expo: Columbus: $5,000

Columbus City Band: $5,000

Columbus Scottish Festival: $5,00

Dearborn Highlands Arts Council: $6,383

Tree County Players, Greensburg: $4,884

Rural Alliance for the Arts, Franklin and Ripley counties: $7,356

Our Heritage Inc., Jennings County: $5,000

Switzerland County Historical Society: $5,000

New Horizons Rehabilitation, Franklin and Ripley counties: $5,000

Special Olympics Indiana, Ripley, Ohio and Dearborn counties: $5,000