Brownstown to host sprint-car special


Brownstown Speedway will host the rain-delayed “No-Way Out 40” tonight for sprint cars.

The event was originally scheduled in March, but was called after nine laps because of rain. The $7,500-to-win feature event will be started over from the beginning, and fans will get to see all 40 laps of racing.

Last weekend, Jason Combs of Seymour won his third straight pure stock feature at Brownstown on June 17. Combs took top honors in the $1,000-to-win Don Russ Tribute over Derek Clegg of Nabb, Kevin Applegate of North Vernon, Austin Burton of Edinburgh and Seymour’s Jim Ruddick.

Marty O’Neal of Spencer won his third straight Indiana Pro Late Model Series feature. O’Neal’s car is owned by Larry Hartwell of North Vernon. Steven Godsey of Bedford was second, and Justin Shaw of Whiteland placed third. Completing the top five were Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh and Isaac Rainey of Bedford.

Matt Boknecht of Seymour won his second modified feature of the year June 17 at Brownstown. Jacoby Hines of Nineveh finished in second, followed by Richie Lex of Morgantown, John Clippinger of Evansville and Brandon Reed of Edinburgh.

Donnie Modesty of Seymour outran the competition for the second time this season in the hornet class. Gregg O’Neill of Mooresville followed Modesty across the finish line ahead of Chad Taylor of Bloomington, Brian Mitchell of Bedford and Daniel Hobbs of Bloomington.

Jason Hehman of Brownstown was the only driver to win during the night that had not won a feature event this season. Hehman recorded his first win of 2017 by winning the super stock main event. Tim Schumpe of Vallonia was second, with Loogootee’s Josh Divine placing third. Completing the top five were Greg Garrison of Bloomington and Aubrey Eagan of Bedford.

Tonight, Brownstown will host, along with the “No-Way Out 40” sprint-car feature, a regularly-scheduled feature for the MSCS sprint cars. Also racing tonight will be the UMRA Midgets, Indiana Pro Late Models, Pure Stocks and RaceSaver sprints. For more info, visit

Twin Cities results

Randy Petro of Columbus won his third super stock feature race of the year on June 17 at the Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon. Jaden Mayhan of Elizabethtown was second with Clayton Perry of North Vernon finishing in third. Trent Niflis of Bedford and Davey Waggoner of North Vernon was fifth.

Mark Barber of North Vernon won the crate late model feature. Barber took the main event honors over Trent Low of North Vernon, Brian Shewmaker of Columbus, Tyson Banks of Bedford and Brad Erwin of Crothersville.

Earl Plessinger of Scottsburg won his first modified feature of the year at Twin Cities over Jeremy Owens of North Vernon, Bryson Clark of North Vernon, Jerry Adams of Elizabethtown and A.J. Pace of Indianapolis.

Cody Perry of North Vernon continues to dominate the hornet division at Twin Cities. He won the main event over Trent Adams of Elizabethtown, Andy Anderson, Jacob McRoberts and Tony Napier II.

Twin Cities has announced that they will not be racing tonight. Racing action will return on July 2. For more info, visit

Bland scores at Bloomington

Defending Bloomington Speedway sprint car champion Jeff Bland Jr. of Bedford won the feature race on June 16. Bland outdueled Brady Short of Bedford and Lee Underwood of Troy, Ohio, for the win.

Tyler Cain of Seymour won the Indiana Late Model Series main event over Justin Shaw, Remington Gill of Mitchell, Brian Shewmaker and Marty O’Neal.

The track will be hosting the makeup J.B. Robinson Memorial event on Friday with a special $3,500-to-win modified feature event. Also on the card are super stocks, 410 non-wing sprints and RaceSaver sprints. For more info, visit

USAC in Pennsylvania

The AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series held five events last week in the state of Pennsylvania with five different winners. Brady Bacon (Grandview), Thomas Meseraull (Lincoln), Kevin Thomas Jr., (Williams Grove), Chris Windom (Port Royal), and Tyler Courtney (Susquehanna) were the feature winners.

Shaffer wins at Eldora

Tim Shaffer of Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, won the Arctic Cat All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car feature on June 17 at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway on Rossburg, Ohio.

With a stout field of 42 cars on hand Shaffer won over Rico Abreu, who came from the 16th starting spot to finish second. Travis Philo was third, with Parker Price-Miller fourth ahead of Dave Blaney. Stewart, the track owner, started 14th and finish ninth.

Ex-champ wins at Lawrenceburg

Former track champion Shawn Westerfeld of Guilford won his first sprint car feature of the year on June 17 at  Lawrenceburg Speedway. Josh Hodges of Tijeras, New Mexico, was second, and Jordan Kinser of Bedford was third. Dickie Gaines of Mitchell and Justin Owen of Harrison, Ohio, completed the top five drivers.

Jeff Koz of Lima, Ohio, won his first career Lawrenceburg modified feature race. Kyle Schornick of Milan was second, with David Spille of Harrison, Ohio, Scotty Kincaid of Rising Sun and Ryan Bross of Cincinnati finishing out the top five.

Lawrenceburg will be off tonight. Its racing schedule will resume July 1 with the Merrill Downey Memorial race for modifieds and late models. For more info, visit

Robinson wins at Florence

Bloomington’s Kent Robinson won the late model feature on June 17 at Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky. Nick Latham of Winchester, Ohio, was second, with teenager Trevor Landrum of Erlanger, Kentucky, finishing third. Scott James of Lawrenceburg and Jeff Wilson of Butlerville completed the top drivers.

Josh Rice of Verona, Kentucky, won the companion modified feature over Ken Schrader, Rick Corbin, Joey Kramer and Kenny Wallace.

Florence will be racing tonight with a late model special on tap paying $10,000 to win. For more info, visit

This week in racing history

Jack Owens was victorious in the late model feature this weekend in 1967 at 25th Street Speedway in Columbus. Gene Sutton finished in second, with Jim Haley placing third and Russ Petro of Columbus was fourth.

From 1977 at Bloomington Speedway, Bobby Black of Taylorsville won the sprint-car feature over Dick Gaines, Bernie Graybeal, Ron Dorsett and Bob Kinser.

Steve Trabue captured the hobby stock feature at Bloomington, winning over Columbus drivers Russ Petro, Bill Smith, Butch Bland and Larry Goodin.

Gaines won the sprint car feature at Paragon 40 years ago over Larry Miller, Bobby Adkins, Black and Butch Wilkerson of Columbus.

From 30 years ago in 1987, Doug Ault won the late model feature at Twin Cities. Ernie Barrow was second, and Dill Whittymore finished in third. Robert Brison of North Vernon was fourth, and Darrell Smallwood from Columbus came home fifth.

Mark Barber of North Vernon won the street stock feature at Twin Cities over Phil Fultz of Clifford, Mark Clark of North Vernon, Tommy Sallee of Columbus and Buford Burton of Edinburgh.

No posts to display