Multisport competitors earn annual senior recognitions for 2016-17 year


Trinity Lutheran High School’s spring sports teams, coaches and parents stuffed the gymnasium Monday to celebrate their seasons.

Sam Marksberry and Hailley Peters were named the Senior Athletes of the Year at TLHS for the 2016-17 school year.

Cougars athletics director Aaron Rudzinski announced the winners following presentations by the girls tennis, boys golf, track and field, softball and baseball teams.

Marksberry played football, basketball, baseball and competed in track while Peters was on the volleyball and track teams.

The tennis team finished 2-13 on the season, but Cougars co-coach Sherry Schult said the record wasn’t indicative of the progress made.

Leah Stuckwisch, the team’s lone senior, received the Cougar Award and was ICGSA Academic All-State honorable mention.

Abby Schult, who played at No. 2 singles, was the most valuable and the doubles tandem of Lauren Fleetwood and Macey Prewitt were co-recipients of the most improved award.

Boys golf coach Greg Personett then presented his team, which featured six seniors this season.

The Cougars broke multiple school records this spring, including 9-holes (157 strokes) and 18-holes (325) scores.

MVP went to Cory Stuckwisch, who medaled in every tournament while also setting records on nine and 18-holes events.

The most improved award went to Mark Shoemaker and Noah Criswell received the Cougar Award.

Cory Stuckwisch, Chad Stuckwisch, Kegan Prentice, Jonathan Ketih, Skyler Stahl and Drew Royalty were all four-year letter winners.

Peters, a high jumper, was named MVP of the girls’ track team and distance runner AJ Goecker was the boys’ MVP for track.

Peters finished 10th at the state meet in the high jump and won the Bloomington North Regional and Seymour Sectional.

Goecker was champion in the 3,200 at the Bedford North Lawrence Sectional.

Cougar awards were presented to Lexi Schneider and Marksberry.

Dylan McKain, Lexi Keller, Schneider and Peters were all four-year senior award receipts.

The softball team finished 13-9 this spring.

MVP was presented to Amanda Wright, who finished with 22 hits, 18 RBI and had a fielding percentage of .860.

The Cougar award went to Kirstin Hoene and Montana Engelking took home most improved.

A coaches’ award was presented to Taylor Russell, who will continue her career at Concordia University Wisconsin.

Most improved awards went to Nathan Thomack and Hannah Sabotin.

Wright, Russell and Hoene were all four-year athletes.

Under first-year coach Matt VonDielingen, the Cougars’ baseball team finished 14-9 with their second straight Sectional 61 crown.

Jake Moore, who owns a handful of school records on the mound, was named MVP.

In 62.2 innings of pitching, Moore compiled 102 strikeouts with just 13 earned runs, 31 walks and 33 hits.

Moore led the team with 31 hits and 21 RBI, and had 14 hits with extra bases.

After taking a year off, Kendall White returned to the squad and was named most improved.

White was second in hits, finishing with 23 on the season.

Noah Voelker was presented the Cougar Award.

Senior awards went to Moore, Ross Kruse, Nick Mensendiek and Sam Crick.

Fifteen athletes received tri-athlete awards for participating in at least three sports on the school year.

Scholar athletes awards, which were presented to students participating in at least one sport and having a GPA of 3.3 or higher for both semesters, went to 58 athletes.

No posts to display