More than 100 alumni attend Tampico reunion


The Tampico High School reunion was April 21 at Pewter Hall in Brownstown with 115 former students, family and friends present.

Gene E. Robbins, son of former Tampico School Principal Elmer Robbins, and Bertha Robbins, a former teacher, served as master of ceremonies.

Gene Robbins welcomed everyone and led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Alice Mae Elliott Woodhull, a 1957 graduate, gave the invocation before dinner was served at 6 p.m.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Former cheerleaders led in the singing of the school song. All veterans in attendance were thanked with applause for their military service.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of deceased classmates since the last reunion, including Larry Melloncamp, Roy Bowling, Mildred Mitschke Hallow, Sarah Jones Tormoehlen, Judy Phillips Collette, Lorraine Smith McKain, Carolyn Hackman and Claus Isaacs.

Earline Beldon Cunningham, a 1938 graduate and former first- and second-grade teacher at Tampico, was introduced by Gene Robbins, and Cunningham asked all of her former students to stand to be recognized.

A variety of flowering and vegetable plants in purple and gold foil wrapped containers were used as table centerpieces and then given as door prizes.

The classes of 1967, 1957 and 1947 were recognized.

The three members of the Class of 1947, Elsie Melloncamp Kovener, Anna Morgan Terrell and Edith Terkhorn Hackman, were unable to attend.

Those attending from the Class of 1957 were Alice Mae Elliott Woodhull, Joyce Hamblin Cravens, Veronica Hamblin Bowling, Carl Ratliff and Velma Tape Nierman.

Members of the Class of 1967, who went to Tampico School through the eighth grade before consolidation took them elsewhere, were Gary Allen, Janet Blair Bolton, Kathy Christopher Kerkhof and Ethel Maxie Benson.

Also attending were Norma Lee Neukam, Bill Wessel, Wilma Benter, Opal Roberts, Ron Roark, Max and Judy Gambrel, Marlene Schuerman, Wilbur Lee Hoevener, Glenn and Carol Deaton, Beverly Babbs, Willard and Linda Hackman, Don Sturgeon, David Sturgeon, Francis and Lavonda Elliott, Sam and Malvina Deaton, Wayne Woodhull, Montie and Barbara Prince, Jayne Nierman, Loretta Hoevener and two granddaughters, Sharon Baldwin, Dorothy Richards, Jimmie and Maribell Hickerson, Jean Stark, Anthony Ratliff, Linda Robbins, Tom Bolton, Buck and Charlotte Keith, Tabitha Ashcraft, Richard Tormoehlen, Roy Robbins, Melvin and Marjorie Bishop, Bart and Donna Maxie, Roland and Anita Sturgeon, Audra Deaton, Pauline Sovern, Marcella Wischmeier, Doris Frey, Richard and Nina Hackman, Kelso and Judith Wessel, Charles and Vivian Stahl, Brenda Wright, Alice Hutcheson, Curt and Sarah Benter, Madeline Rothert, Doris Otte, Delores Frost, Don Wessel, Richard and Carolyn Peters, Peggy Broshears, Joyce Lucas, Betty Noel, Carolyn Wolka, David and Kathy Cunningham, David and Sandy Hackman, Gary Cunningham, Duane Melloncamp, Carol Otte, Doris Ray and daughter, Clarence and Pat Stuckwisch, Elberta Darlage, Helen Harbin and two guests, Becky Allen, Ruth Reynolds, Kenneth Reynolds, Robert Tatlock, Earl Wolka, Ben Deaton, Violet Wischmeier, Don and Jackie Hoevener, Patti Daughtery, Lonavene Johnson and Ron Wischmeier.

The 2018 reunion will be April 20 at Pewter Hall.

No posts to display