Local late-model drivers to compete with top competition

Columbus Super Late Model drivers Zak Blackwood and Devin Gilpin will be racing tonight at Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky.

The event will be the Ralph Latham Memorial Race featuring the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will pay $12,000 to win and $1,000 to start. The top national and regional drivers will be on hand for the event.

It will be Blackwood’s debut race of the 2017 season. He will be driving a Swartz Race Cars Chassis powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Lucas Oil Products, Blackwood Lawn and Landscaping, Yoder Farms, The Kroot Corporation, The Brick, IndSolTech, Seymour Precision Machining, Dunn Farms, Vick’s Liquors, OSSSA Softball, Poske’s, PA Racing, LS Kustoms, J&A Electric and Budda Bert Transmissions.

John Gill of Mitchell leads the weekly points at Florence, and Scott Bloomquist is the top point man for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Tonight at Florence, pit gates will open at 3 p.m., with main grandstand gates opening at 5 p.m. Hot laps will start at 6 p.m.. For more info, visit florencespeedway.com.

Poor weather forces cancellations

Last weekend, all the local dirt tracks were forced to cancel events due to wet weather.

Columbus native gets win

Columbus native Derek Fisher, a Columbus East High School graduate who now resides in Olympia, Kentucky, won his first Late Model feature of the year on April 29 at Richmond Raceway in Richmond, Kentucky. Chris Combs finished second, followed by Victor Lee, Jason Barrett and Connor Meade.

Sargeant dominates at Salem

Dalton Sargeant won the ARCA 20 on April 30 at Salem Speedway in Salem in convincing fashion, lapping the entire field. It was his second career ARCA win. Gus Dean finished in second, and Kyle Weatherman came home third. Completing the top five were Shane Lee and Austin Theriault, who was driving a car owned by former NASCAR competitor Ken Schrader.

Gravel takes WoO sprint main

David Gravel won his fifth World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series event of the season on April 28 at Plymouth Speedway. The April 29 scheduled event at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt was postponed due to heavy rain. The event was re-scheduled for May 14.

At Plymouth, Gravel, who started seventh, was followed across the finish line by Jason Sides, Aaron Reutzel, Donny Schatz and Brad Sweet.

Brownstown running tonight

Brownstown Speedway will resume its racing action tonight with the track hosting the Scott Patman Tribute, a special event for the Super Stock division. Also on the race program will be the Indiana Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Hornets. Gates will open at 3 p.m. with hot laps at 6 p.m. For more info, visit brownstownspeedway.com.

Current points leaders at Brownstown are Jared Bailey of Bedford (Super Late Models), Marty O’Neal of Spencer (Indiana Pro Late Models), Matt Boknecht of Seymour (Modifieds), Colton Sullivan of Columbus (Super Stocks), Derek Clegg of Nabb (Pure Stocks) and Donnie Modesty of Seymour (Hornets).

Twin Cities in action tonight

The Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon gets back to racing action tonight with a complete show featuring the Crate Late Models, Modifieds, Pure Stocks, Hornets, and Winged MMSA. For more info, visit twincitiestrack.com.

Lawrenceburg ready to race

Lawrenceburg Speedway will kick off the month of May with a full program tonight of 410 Non-Wing Sprint Cars, Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Hornets. For more info, visit lawrenceburgspeedway.com.

Paragon season opener next week

Paragon Speedway will begin its 63rd season of racing May 13 with a full slate of racing action featuring the 410 Non-Wing Sprints, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks, Bombers and Hornets. For more info, visit paragonspeedway.com.

USAC Sprints at Eldora

The AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Cars will next compete at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, Friday and May 13. Also racing will be the World of Outlaw Sprint Cars both nights. For more info, visit eldoraspeedway.com.

Bloomington upcoming schedule

Bloomington Speedway will be racing next Friday night with scheduled events, including the MOWA Sprints, MOWA-Midwest Open Wheel Association, Super Stocks and Modifieds. For more info, visit bloomingtonspeedway.com.

UMRA Midgets rained out again

UMRA King of the TQ Midgets had its race program rained out April 29 at Montpelier Speedway. Its next scheduled event will be May 13 at U.S. 24 Speedway in Logansport. Jason Setser of Columbus is defending series champion.

This week in racing history

Forty years ago, in 1977, Ira Bastin won the Late Model feature at Brownstown Speedway. He was followed across the finish line by Paul Crockett, John Davis, Dennis Boknecht and Ray Godsey.

Dusty Chapman won the Hobby Stock feature race at Brownstown over Columbus’ Russ Petro, Theron Straley, Gene Minor of Columbus and Dink Morrison.

From 1987, Noel Witcher was victorious in the Late Model feature at Brownstown. Kevin Claycomb finished in second, followed by Steve Boley, C.J. Rayburn and Gerald Dixon.

Mike Jewell won the Sportsman feature at Brownstown over Danny Blackwell, Doc Jewell, Bob Johnson of Columbus and Joe Wilson.

Marty Bruce won the Street Stock main event. Ron Lucas of Nashville was second. He was followed by Don Walp, Dave Barnett of Columbus and Randy Lucas of Nashville.

At Twin Cities from 1987, Robert Brison of North Vernon won the Late Model feature race over Doug Ault, Mike Gibbs, Jim Ruddick and Darrell Smallwood of Columbus.

Jeff Daugherty won the Street Stock feature at Twin Cities. Phil Fultz of Clifford, Gregg Lyle of Columbus, Randy Petro of Columbus and Jeff Wilson completed the top five drivers.