Veteran driver nets second win of season

Randy Petro of Columbus won his second straight super stocks feature April 23 at Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon.

The track postponed its regularly scheduled event due to rain and ran Sunday afternoon.

Tim Eddelman of Taylorsville finished second to Petro in the main event. Jaden Mayhan of Elizabethtown, a rookie in the super stocks class, finished third. Tom Ault of Freetown and Jason Hehman of Brownstown completed the top five drivers.

Petro’s Fly-By-U Chassis is sponsored by Reasonable Construction, Jimmie’s Motor Machine, Russell Hubbard Racing, Dasco Racing Supply, Tyree’s Trim Shop, Rich’s Rod Shop, Dunn Farms, The Kroot Corporation, B&M Salvage and Williams Graphics.

Brad Barrow of Bloomington won his first crate late models feature race of the season at Twin Cities. He drives a car owned by Roe Dale Burton of Edinburgh. Trailing Barrow to the finish line were Tyler Cain of Seymour, last week’s winner Jeremy Hines of Seymour, Steven Godsey of Bedford and Austin Burns of Morgantown.

In the modifieds division, Jeremy Owens of North Vernon made it 2 for 2 this year, capturing the feature race. Jacoby Hines of Nineveh was second, with Columbus’ Devin Gilpin finishing in third. Bryson Clark of North Vernon and Adam Stricker of Cincinnati rounded out the top five.

Mark Hines of Scipio drove to the victory in the pure stocks class. Troy Clark of North Vernon came home in second. Hines and Clark were followed to the checkered flag by William Burton of North Vernon, Seth Hull of Holton and Ross Smith of Columbus.

Donnie Modesty of Seymour, who won the hornets feature last week at Brownstown, captured the win Sunday afternoon at Twin Cities. Jeremy Smith was second to Modesty, with Matthew Craddock placing third. The rest of the top five finishers were Daniel Hobbs and Chad Taylor.

Racing will continue tonight at Twin Cities with crate late models, modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks and hornets. For more info, visit

Bad weather weekend for most tracks

Last weekend, the rainy and below-normal temperatures forced cancellations at Bloomington Speedway, Brownstown Speedway, Florence Speedway and Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Bloomington’s next race will be Friday night, with the 410 non-wing sprints, RaceSaver sprints and super stocks in action. More info, visit

Brownstown will be back in action tonight with a full program of MARS Late Models, Indiana Pro Late Models, modifieds, super stocks and pure stocks. For more info, visit

Florence will host tonight the super late models, crate late models, modifieds, pure stocks and hornets. May 6, the track will host the Ralph Latham Memorial for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, with a first-place prize of $12,000 on the line. For more info, visit

Lawrenceburg is racing tonight with 410 non-wing sprints, modifieds, pure stocks and hornets. For more info, visit

Route 44 Speedway in Liberty will be racing Friday night with A-Mods, bombers, hornets and modlites. For more info, visit

Salem kicks off season this weekend

Salem Speedway will kick-off its 2017 race season this weekend, hosting the ARCA Series and Lucas Oil Great American Stocks. Practice and qualifying will take place today with the ARCA 200 and Great American Stocks 50 to be run on Sunday. Sunday, pit gates will open at 9 a.m., with spectator gates opening at 9:45 a.m. There will be an autograph session at 11:30 a.m., with racing starting at 1 p.m. For further info, visit

USAC at Plymouth

The AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series made its first-ever visit to Plymouth Speedway on April 21, with Justin Grant coming home the winner. The event at Montpelier Motor Speedway was rained out.

Grant took his second USAC sprint car win of the season, going to Victory Lane over his 18th starting position. Tyler Courtney who finished in second. Chad Boespflug finished third, with Thomas Meseraull and Stevie Sussex completing the top five.

The rest of the top finishers were Chase Stockon, Shane Cottle, Chris Windom, Jon Stanbrough and Kevin Thomas Jr. A total of 27 cars were on hand for the event.

Stockon, a former Elizabethtown resident, was the top qualifier. Heat race winners were Stockon, Boespflug and Kevin Thomas Jr. Sussex won the semi-feature.

The next AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car race will be held at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, on May 12 and 13.

New AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Standings: 1. Grant 465; 2. Boespflug 464; 3. Windom 386; 4. Stockon 364; 5. Jarett Andretti 297.

This week in racing history

Fifty years ago, Gene Rodgers opened the 1967 racing season by winning at Brownstown Speedway. George Webster finished second, followed by Joe King of Columbus.

From 1977, Phil Fultz of Clifford won the season-opening race at Twin Cities.

From April of 1977, Paul Crockett won the late models feature at Brownstown over Ira Bastin, Bob Fleetwood, John Davis and Dennis Boknecht.

In the hobby stocks division, it was Scott Taskey of Columbus taking the feature win. Trailing Taskey to the finish line were Dusty Chapman, Herman Burton of Columbus, Dink Morrison and Russ Petro of Columbus.

In 1987 at Brownstown Speedway, John Gill won the late models feature over Paul Shafer, Roger Long, C.J. Rayburn and Noel Witcher.

Mike Jewell won the sportsman division main event over Danny Blackwell, Billy Filburn, Jay Lainhart and Doc Jewell.

Joe Johnson captured the street stocks feature at Brownstown, winning over Steve Kimberlin, Don Walp, Ray Hughes of North Vernon and Jeff Terry.

At Twin Cities 30 years ago in 1987, Sam Murphy and Phil Fultz won the feature events. Murphy won the late models feature over Dill Whittymore, Danny Eichler, Doug Ault and Terry Walters. Fultz took the street stocks main event over Gregg Lyle of Columbus, Mark Barber of North Vernon, Jeff Wilson and Jeff Daugherty.