Thumbs-Up, Thumbs-Down – February 17

Award-winning writers

Thumbs-up to sixth-grader Marlo Cornn for winning the Sertoma Club of Jackson County’s annual “What Freedom Means to Me” essay contest. The St. Ambrose Catholic School student wrote that freedom allows Americans to be anything they want to be. Other sixth-graders recognized for their essays during the Sertoma Freedom Banquet on Feb. 8 at First United Methodist Church in Seymour where runners-up, Dylan Wischmeier, who attends Lutheran Central School in Brownstown, and Emily Lewis, a student at Brownstown Central Middle School. Lucy Caudill, a student at Immanuel Lutheran School in Seymour, also was received honorable mention.

SADD raising awareness

Thumbs-up to members of Seymour High School’s Students Against Destructive Decisions for staging a mock wreck Saturday to bring awareness to the dangers of distracted driving. Personnel with Seymour Police Department, Seymour Fire Department, Jackson County EMS, Hampton’s Towing and StatFlight participated in the event which was videotaped for entry into the Toyota Teen Drive 365 competition. The winner of that contest, featuring original public service announcements, will receive $15,000.

Gold medalists

Thumbs-up to the Seymour High School students who advance to the state finals of the Indiana State School Music Association Solo and Ensemble Contest. Group I gold medalists advancing after the regional competition were soloists, Hallie Crenshaw (piccolo and flute), Chloe Bryden, Chloe Baker, Emily Zink, Jennie Stuart, Mary Abernathy, May Huff, Barry Huff, Bailee Wolfe, Brandon Holtman, Harrison Cottrill, Dustin Morris, Jacob Voss and Shosei Ando. Also competing for medals will be a percussion ensemble with students, Raquay Holland, Rachel Collett, Leah Desender, Bailey Burgmeier, Morgan Sargent, Maverick Conner and Julia Bye; a French horn ensemble with Brandon Holtman, Harrison Cottrill, Victoria Mahoney and Kyle Valencia; a flute sextet of Chloe Bryden, Hallie Crenshaw, Jennie Stuart, Mary Abernathy, Macy Rotert and Lorelei Schmidt; and a saxophone ensemble with Janet Taguchi, Skyler Cash and Sergio Galicia.