Brownstown Speedway announces champions


Brownstown Speedway has announced its division champions for this season. The track will honor the top 10 in each of its six racing classes with its annual awards banquet Jan. 21 at the Hall in Brownstown.

Joe Godsey of Edinburgh captured his first career Super Late Model championship by a slim margin over last year’s winner, Chad Stapleton, also from Edinburgh. Godsey had won the past two Modified titles at Brownstown driving for Tony Stewart. This year Godsey, grandson of National Dirt Late Model Hall of Famer Ray Godsey, raced for Columbus businessman and car owner Steve Vawter.

Godsey edged out Stapleton by just eight points in taking the points championship. Jared Bailey of Bedford had a successful rookie campaign in the Super Late Model division, finishing third in points and capturing the “Rooke of the Year” honors, as well. Jeremy Hines of Seymour, a two-time track champion at Brownstown, was fourth in points. Alan Magner of North Vernon finished fifth in the final standings.

The 37-year-old Godsey drove Vawter’s Bad Medicine Motorsports MasterSbilt Race Cars, with sponsorship by CS Prototyping LLC, Industrial Solutions Technology LLC, Lags Billiards, Premier Racing Suspensions and Pro Power Racing Engines.

Marty O’Neal of Spencer won his third championship racing in the Indiana Late Model Series. O’Neal, 54, who drives for car owner Larry Hartwell of North Vernon, won the title over his nephew, Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville, a 16-year-old phenom who ended the season competing with the Super Late Models. Remington Gill of Mitchell claimed third in the points. Raymond Humphrey of Bloomington and Tyler Cain of Seymour rounded out the top five drivers. Cain was named “Rookie of the Year” in the division.

Hartwell’s Moon-Lite Racing Team MasterSbilt Race Car was sponsored this season by K&G Sports, JT’s Trash Service, Right Auto Parts, Mo and Jo Investments, Max Powder Coating, All-Star Performance, E-Z Lifts, Wilson Concrete and MLR Fabricating.

Jamey Wilson of Seymour won his first championship at Brownstown by taking the Super Stock division crown. Wilson, the grandson of Jim Curry, the winningest driver in the history of Brownstown Speedway and another member of the National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame, won the title over fellow Jackson County drivers David Brewer of Seymour, Tom Ault of Freetown and Kevin Jones of Seymour.

Aubrey Eagan of Bedford completed the top five in points, becoming the first female driver in the history of the track to do so in the Super Stock division. Roger Reichenbacker of Seymour was named the division’s “Rookie of the Year.”

The 33-year-old Wilson’s car was sponsored this year by Wilson Tree Service, Ayers Trucking, Ault Signs and Graphics, Michie’s Diner, Hanner’s Barber Shop, Kendall Farms, Beck’s Hybrids, Dave’s Body Shop, JC Cattle Company and Gerster Livestock Hauling.

Seymour native Jacoby Hines, who now resides in Nineveh, won his first Brownstown Speedway Modified track title. Rick Gumm of Tampico finished second in the points, followed by veteran Dennis Boknecht of Seymour, Marty O’Neal and Jerry Adams of Elizabethtown. To go along with his top five in the points, Adams was also the top rookie driver in the class.

Hines, 32, a second-generation racer, also won the Modified points at Bloomington Speedway. His Diamond Race Car is sponsored by Warrior Race Engines, Honey Creek Auto, Thirty-One Auto Group and Century 21 by Corina Jones.

Veteran driver Jim Ruddick of Seymour won his second Pure Stock championship in the past three years at Brownstown. Jeremy Huebner of Loogootee was second to Ruddick in the final standings. Zachary Stalker of Heltonville was third, with Josh Hayes of Seymour and Donnie Wilson of North Vernon completing the top five competitors. Austin Burton of Edinburgh captured “Rookie of the Year” honors in the division.

The 65-year-old Ruddick’s Nightcrawler Chassis is sponsored by Jimmie’s Motor Machine, Davis Body Shop, B&W Agri-Products,, Diamond Auto Sales and D’s Diner.

John Mayer Jr. of Edinburgh won the Hornet division championship for the first time since 2009 the inaugural year of the class at Brownstown. Wesley Napier of New Washington was second with Jaden Mayhan of Elizabethtown, Donnie Modesty of Seymour and Brian Moore of Bedford rounded out the top five. Haley Modesty of Seymour was the “Rookie of the Year” in the division.

Mayer’s The Hornet Factory-produced car is sponsored by Coffey Auto Enhancement, Hoosier Machine and Welding, Drain Master, Jack’s Garage, Smooth Stone Excavating, Britton Lawn Service, Supreme Customs, Wesley Motorsports, Core Capital, SRT Transmission, and M&L Motorsports.

This week in history

Forty years ago, Paul Crockett of Brownstown won his second straight Late Model Track Championship at Brownstown Speedway during the 1976 racing season. Ed Covey of Bedford was the Hobby Stock Track Champion. Pete Willoughby of Columbus won “Rookie of the Year” honors in the Late Models, and Jim Cornett of French Lick was named the winner of the “Sportsmanship Award.”Crockett captured the Late Model title over Jim Curry, Dennis Boknecht, Russ Petro, Ira Bastin, John Davis, Ray Godsey, Noel Witcher, Gerald Dixon and Bob Fleetwood. Covey’s championship was won against John Mull, Scott Taskey, Roger Hehman, Darrell Smallwood, Ed Hall, Steve Rollins, Dusty Chapman, Darrell Napier and Cody Pearson.

James Essex writes a motorsports roundup for The (Columbus) Republic, a sister paper of The Tribune. Send comments to [email protected].

No posts to display