Government offices closed for Election Day


Seymour city offices, the Department of Public Works and Seymour Transit will be closed Tuesday for Election Day.

Jackson County offices and other government offices in Brownstown, Crothersville and Medora also will be closed that day.

Trash, recycling and yard waste normally picked up Tuesday in Seymour will be collected Monday.

Bureau of Motor Vehicles license branches will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday to issue identification cards and driver’s licenses that may be used for identification at a polling place. Branches also will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday.

The license branches only will process new, amended or replacement identification cards, driver’s licenses and learner permits.

The BMV provides free state-issued identification cards for voting purposes to any unlicensed Hoosier as long as he or she can provide proper documentation and will be at least 18 years of age on or before the next general or municipal election.

No posts to display