Owls name top runners


For The Tribune

Ashton Chase and Jacob Voss led their respective Seymour cross-country teams to the finish line throughout the season.

Both runners picked up numerous honors throughout the fall and were named most valuable runners on their respective teams at the awards program in the school cafeteria Thursday night.

“This is a celebration of the young lady’s accomplishments,” girls coach Spencer Sunbury said in presenting Chase her award.

“She comes out and does what it takes to be successful,” he said of the sophomore standout. “She is not intimidated by other runners. At state she knew who she was going after and got off to a great start and didn’t let up. She led us in 10 out of 12 races.”

Chase finished 33rd at state and had her best time of the season at 18:38.

Along the way Chase placed first at Seymour, Bedford and at Franklin, she was the Hoosier Hills Conference Champion to earn All-HHC honors.

Makenna Sunbury placed second and Abby Voss fifth to help the Owls place second in the conference meet.

“That (HHC) is one of the meets I’m most proud of,” Spencer Sunbury said. “They represented (Seymour) very well.”

Boys coach Randy Fife said he presented his most valuable runner award to Voss because of his determination and work ethic.

Voss earned All-HHC honors for placing fifth at Bedford with a time of 17:07. Voss’ best time of the year was 16:28, which places him 12th on Seymour’s career record board.

Also earning All-HHC honors was Hunter Bauserman, who was sixth at 17:08, and he ranks 24th on the record board with a time of 16:53.

Karley Sunbury received the coach’s award for the girls.

“That award is based on her entire career,” Spencer Sunbury said. He said she had an excellent freshman year, didn’t run as well her sophomore year, was slowed by asthma her junior year, came on and had a good senior year, and continued to drop her times at the end of the season. He said her best time was 23:59.

Kelli Armes, another senior, received the most improved award. This was the first year Armes ran cross-country.

“(Armes) was a quiet runner,” Spencer Sunbury said. “She figured out how to run, and she dropped a minute off her Batesville time, and dropped her time 55 seconds at the regional. She had a lot of determination.”

Senior Haley Westfall received the mental attitude award.

“She was not afraid to push herself,” Spencer Sunbury said. “She would always stick in there and do the next session. She never took it easy. She dropped her time 1:40 in her second season of CC.”

Freshman Makenna Sunbury received the newcomer award.

“She shows a lot of promise the next three years. I look for somebody that embodies being a runner,” Spencer Sunbury said in presenting her this award. Her best time was 19:15.

Spencer Sunbury complimented his seniors for their leadership and said they did a nice job of representing the community, school and team.

Fife presented coaches awards to Alex Lovins and Bauserman.

“They’re incredible,” he said. “They come early for practice. They are the two best role models I could ask for.”

Fife presented the newcomer of the year award to freshman Luke Plummer.

Lovins was named Academic All-State First Team, while Trent Hohenstreiter and Bauserman were honorable mention.

Fife also praised his seniors for their hard work and leadership.

The Owls won the Seymour Invite, placed second at Bedford and third in the sectional.

“We didn’t accomplish all our goals, but it doesn’t mean it wasn’t a successful season,” Fife said. “We learned a lot about ourselves.”

Season results

Boys: 1-Seymour Invite, 2-Bedford North Lawrence Invite, 7-Franklin Invite, 7-Brown County Invite, 6-Batesville Invite, 6-Flash Rock Invite, 6-Hoosier Hills Conference, 3-Sectional, 16-Regional.Girls: 1-Seymour Invite, 1-Bedford North Lawrence Invite, 2-Franklin Invite, 7-Brown County invite, 2-Batesville Invite, 12-Flash Rock Invite, 2-Hoosier Hills Conference, 2-Sectional, 2-Regional, 5-Semistate, 23-State.

No posts to display