Long-time starter earns awards for Owls


For The Tribune

Brantley Adams was a leader on and off the field for the Seymour boys soccer team not only this season, but for his entire varsity career.

For his work, Adams was named Seymour’s most valuable player during the team’s awards program conducted Tuesday night in the school cafeteria.

He was the Owls’ only four-year varsity letter winner this year.

“(Adams) led by example,” Owls coach Matt Dennis said. “He was an intelligent player. He was a two-year captain. He was able to win most of the 50-50 balls.”

Adams took home an armload of honors and plaques as he was also named midfielder of the year, Hoosier Hills All-Conference First Team and Academic All-State.

Dennis announced that Adams was selected to the Indiana Soccer Coaches Association All-District 5 team and he will play in the soccer showcase in Indianapolis Nov. 19 and 20.

Dennis will coach the District 5 team, and he was also named Hoosier Hills Conference coach of the year for coaching the Owls to the title.

Brayan Morales received the coaches award.

“He implements what you’re trying to do on the soccer field.” Dennis said.

Carter Wait was named the most improved player.

Dennis said he went from not starting at the beginning of the season to becoming a key player in the Owls’ success.

Griffin Sciarra received the defender of the year for the third straight year.

“He was the most vocal leader we had,” Dennis said. “He was the leader of the back of the defense and he held everyone accountable.”

Daniel Hartman took home attacker of the year.

He topped the Owls in scoring with 11 goals and one assist and this is the second straight year he has led the team in scoring.

“I expect his numbers to rise more next year,” Dennis said.

Sciarra, Elliott Clark and Hartman were also named to the HHC first team, with Morales, Mason Pottschmidt, Ethan Greene and Zach Moore being named honorable mention.

Clark was named to the All-District second team.

Dennis said the Owls gave up 43 goals in 2014, 27 last year and only 13 this fall.

Clark and the Owls had seven shutouts this season.

Dennis announced that players had to carry a minimum 3.7 GPA to be named academic All-State and he said Sciarra, Wait, Pottschmidt and Greene were also given that honor.

The ISCA has each school name a team player of the year and Pottschmidt was selected as Seymour’s player.

This is the second time he has received that award.

“He showed his leadership skills,” Dennis said. “He played nine different positions for us the last three years.

The Owls were 12-4 and Dennis said that was one more win than in 2015.

“It was a great season,” Dennis said. “We had 14 players that scored a goal and 17 players that scored at least an assist. We are a true team.

Dennis said there is a list of five goals posted in the locker room that he wants the team to continually strive for.

He said the team reached three of them goals on a daily basis, achieved four of them several times and reached all five occasionally.

The junior varsity, coached by Greg Jones, finished 11-0.

He said Seymour outscored its opponents 38-4 during the season, including 17-0 in the final four matches of the season.

Blaine Spivey was the most valuable junior varsity player and Patrick DeBoor was named most improved.

No posts to display