Columbus racer picks up first win of season


Broc Burton of Columbus picked up his first feature win of the season on Oct. 8 at Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky.

For Burton, who was driving his Bandit Race Cars Modified, it was his first-ever win at the Northern Kentucky half-mile track. Burton won over Victor Lee, Richie Lex, Billy Vaughan and Kyle Schornick. Burton’s car is sponsored by Central Marketing Transport, RCS Motorsports and Travis Kern Racing Engines.

In the Late Model division at Florence, Nick Latham picked up his first-ever win at Florence. Robby Hensley was second, followed by John Whitney, Jesse Lay and Ethan Burgess.

Florence Speedway will be idle this week. It will host its season finale on Oct. 22 with $5,000-to-win feature events for both the Late Models and Modifieds. For more info, visit

Eldora hosts season finale

Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, closed out its 2016 racing season on Oct. 8 with three divisions of Sprint Car racing.Rico Abreu picked up the victory in the Arctic Cat All-Star Circuit of Champions feature race. Dale Blaney finished in second, followed by Chad Kemenah in third. Cap Henry and Cole Duncan completed the top five.

Aaron Reutzal won the NRA Sprint Invaders main event at Eldora. Butch Schroeder came across the line in second, followed by Dustin Daggett, Tim Allison and Devon Dobie.

In the BOSS Sprint main, it was Chris Windom taking the win over Thomas Meseraull, Dallas Hewitt, Dustin Smith and Matt Westfall.

Brownstown hosts FunFest

Brownstown Speedway wrapped up its racing season with the annual FunFest. The weekend kicked off on Oct. 7 with open wheel racing on the quarter-mile oval.Brady Short of Bedford won the 410 Non-wing Sprint Car feature event. Kyle Cummins of Princeton was second, followed by Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville, Kevin Thomas Jr. of Cullman, Alabama, and Ethan Barrow of Bloomington.

Ethan Barrow would be victorious on the RaceSaver Winged Sprints, taking the win over Dakota Jackson of Elizabethtown, Kerry Kinser of Bloomington, Tyler Waltz of Bloomington and Andy Bradley of Bloomington.

The UMRA King of the TQs concluded their season with Johnny Goff winning the feature event. Jason Setser of Columbus finished second to clinch the season championship. Jason Goff finished third, followed by Nick Speidel and Rick Robinson from Columbus.

At Brownstown on Oct. 8, Hudson O’Neal won the Super Late Model Feature race. Brad Barrow of Bloomington was second, with Remington Gill of Mitchell, Marty O’Neal of Spencer and Jared Bailey of Bedford completing the top five.

Marty O’Neal captured the Indiana Pro Late Model feature, taking the win over Tyler Cain of Seymour, Gill, Matt Bex of Avoca and Steven Godsey of Bedford.

Also at Brownstown, Jeremy Owens of North Vernon took top honors in the Modified division. Matt Boknecht of Seymour was second, and Marty O’Neal came home third. Completing the top five were Jerry Adams of Elizabethtown and Lee Hobbs from Mitchell.

The Super Stock main event was ruled by Jamey Wilson of Seymour. Steve Peeden of Paragon and Jeremy Helton of Paris Crossing finished second and third. Aaron Fields and Tim Eddelman, both Taylorsville, rounded out the top five drivers.

Houston Roark won the Pure Stock main event during FunFest. Ryan Vannice trailed Roark to the finish line, with Michael Cranmer, Kyle Albertson and Austin Burton of Edinburgh completing the top five.

Tyler Neal of Paragon won the Bomber feature. Mark Smith of Morgantown was second, with James Walters, Roger Absher and Jared Litton following.

The Hornet division feature was won by John Mayer Jr. of Edinburgh. Trent Adams of Elizabethtown was second, followed by A.J. Hobbs, Hunter Perry of Columbus and Tony Napier Jr. of North Vernon.

And finally on Sunday, Michael Cranmer won the Pure Stock Enduro, and Eric Childers captured the Hornet Enduro.

The 2016 track champions at Brownstown are Joe Godsey (Super Late Models), Marty O’Neal (Indiana Pro Late Models), Jacoby Hines (Modified), Jamey Wilson (Super Stock), Jim Ruddick (Pure Stock) and Wesley Napier (Hornets).

Terre Haute hosts USAC

Terre Haute Action Track in Terre Haute will host the “Jim Hurtubise Classic” tonight, featuring the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series.

James Essex writes a motorsports roundup for The (Columbus) Republic, a sister paper of The Tribune. Send comments to [email protected].

No posts to display