Eldora set for World 100


Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, will host the most prestigious race in dirt late model racing tonight. The 46th annual World 100 will pay $49,000.

Racing action tonight will include six heat races, B-mains and the 100-lap feature event. For more information, visit eldoraspeedway.com. Jonathan Davenport is the defending race winner.

Baltes Classic

Kent Robinson of Bloomington won the World 100 tuneup for Late Models on Sunday at Eldora, capturing the Baltes Classic. Billy Moyer of Batesville, Arkansas, finished second; followed by Duane Chamberlain of Richmond; Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wisconsin; and Nick Hoffman of Mooresville, North Carolina.Hall of Fame ClassicCody Mahoney of Madison won the Super Late Model Feature on Sept. 3 at Brownstown Speedway. Mahoney captured the Hall of Fame Classic main event over Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville, who was making his Super Late Model debut. Joe Godsey of Edinburgh was third, with Jared Bailey of Bedford and Matt Bex of Avoca completing the top five.

Hudson O’Neal remained unbeatable in the Indiana Pro Late Model division. He outran his uncle, Marty O’Neal, of Spencer for the win. Justin Shaw of Whiteland finished third, with Brad Barrow of Bloomington and Remington Gill of Mitchell rounding out the top five drivers.

Jeremy Owens of North Vernon picked up the win in the Modified class. Chasing Owens to the finish line were Victor Lee of Danville, Kentucky; Jacoby Hines of Nineveh; Adam Sasser of Bedford and Jeff Deckard from Ellettsville.

Owens’ WGP Chassis is sponsored by Gilpin Electric and Generator, All-Paving, Brad Erwin Customs, Travis Kern Racing Engines, Right Auto Parts, Jeff Mounce Motorsports, Genesis Racing Shocks and P3 Graphics.

Greg Garrison of Bloomington won his first career Super Stock feature at Brownstown. Mike Fields of Scottsburg was second, with Marty Cooper of Franklin, Aubrey Eagan of Bedford and David Brewer of Seymour completing the top five.

Josh Hayes of Seymour won his first career Pure Stock feature, outrunning Jim Ruddick of Seymour and Zachary Stalker of Heltonville. Carrie Cain of Seymour was fourth, and David Palmer of New Albany completed the top five.

Brownstown Speedway announced its class of 2016 Hall of Fame inductees, which included Larry Hartwell, Duke and Jeff Mounce and Don Norman.

Brownstown will be off tonight. The next scheduled race will be Sept. 17, with the Jackson 100 Tuneup for Super Late Models. For more info, visit brownstownspeedway.com.

Hodges wins Dick Gaines Memorial

Josh Hodges of Albuquerque, New Mexico, held off Joss Moffatt of Columbus to win the Dick Gaines Memorial on Sept. 3 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. Points leader Jarett Andretti came home third, followed by Kyle Cummins and Tyler Thomas.Joey Kramer of Hanover made it back-to-back wins in the Modified division at Lawrenceburg. Kyle Schornick was second, with Scott Kincaid, David Spille and Broc Burton of Columbus completing the top five.

Dalton Smith was victorious in the Hornet class. Ryan Eversole crossed the finish line in second, with Kenny Higbie, Brandon Stephens and David Willoughby trailing.

Will McRoberts won the Pure Stock main event

Twin Cities hosts two nights of racing

Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon hosted two nights of racing during the Labor Day Weekend.On Sept. 3, Justin Walters of North Vernon took home the win in the Super Stock division over Jeremy Helton of Paris Crossing, Ross Smith of Columbus, Jeff Patterson of North Vernon and Joey Cochran.

Dustin Nobbe of Batesville won the Crate Late Model feature race over Mason Covey of Seymour, Brad Erwin of Crothersville, Trent Low of North Vernon and Bodi Henry of Scipio.

Jayden Mayhan of Elizabethtown continued his winning ways this season by taking the Hornet feature race. Mayhan has now won at Twin Cities, Brownstown and Bloomington Speedways this season. Chad Taylor of Bloomington finished second to Mayhan, with Owen Cosman of Martinsville, Austin Perry of North Vernon and Michael Hayes completing the top five.

On Sunday, Twin Cities hosted the Ted Collins Memorial for Late Models, with Joe Godsey coming away with the win. Godsey drives for Columbus businessman and car owner Steve Vawter. Zak Blackwood of Columbus finished second to Godsey. Derek Fisher a Columbus native now living in Olympia, Kentucky, was third, with Greg Amick of Columbus and Alan Magner of North Vernon finishing out the top five.

James Essex writes a motorsports roundup for The Republic, a sister paper of The Tribune. Send comments to [email protected].

No posts to display