‘Long time coming’ for Seymour winner at Speedway


Three drivers visited Victory Lane at Brownstown Speedway on Saturday night for the first time this season while Cody Mahoney and Hudson O’Neal continued their winning ways.

Seymour’s Josh Hayes scored his first win in the “Staff Management” Pure Stock division, fending off past winners Jim Ruddick and Zachary Stalker.

Hayes was full of emotion in Victory Lane as he thanked his family and sponsors.

“Wow, I don’t know what to say, I’m going to cry,” Hayes said. “It’s been a long time coming.”

Hayes rallied from his fourth place starting position to claim the win.

Carrie Cain, from Seymour, grabbed her season best finish of the season as she finished fourth in the Pure Stock feature. Cain started in 10th.

Bloomington’s Greg Garrison won the “Woolston Automotive” Super Stock feature, his first career win in the division.

Garrison won the 2014 Hornet track championship at Brownstown Speedway.

North Vernon resident Jeremy Owens claimed his first win of the season in the UMP Modified division, besting Kentucky driver Victor Lee.

“That was an awesome race,” Owens said. “To pass them guys like that for the win, I’m pretty excited right now.”

Hudson O’Neal dominated the “P3 Graphix” Indiana Pro Late Model Series feature yet again, making this his sixth-straight win at Brownstown.

Consistency prevailed for Marty O’Neal and Justin Shaw who both scored podium finishes.

Hudson made his career debut in the “EZ Lift” Super Late Model division for the 12th Annual “Hall of Fame Classic,” finishing in the runner up position behind Hanover’s Cody Mahoney.

O’Neal — who started in sixth position — was pressuring for the lead but a late race caution ended his hopes of overtaking Mahoney.

Mahoney, racing for Bowman Motorsports located in Seymour, scored his second feature win at Brownstown this season in as many starts.

“I’ve really enjoyed racing here quite a bit lately, especially when we’re winning,” said Mahoney.

This was Mahoney’s first “Hall of Fame Classic” win of his career. Mahoney finished fifth in last year’s event after starting in the 21st  starting position.

Seymour’s Jeremy Hines has won the past two events.

In addition to the evening’s on-track activities was the induction of new Hall of Fame members at Brownstown.

Duke Mounce, Jeff Mounce, Larry Hartwell, and Don Norman were all inducted into the Brownstown Speedway Hall of Fame.

Brownstown will be off this weekend in observance of the “World 100” at Eldora Speedway.

The next event will be the “Jackson 100 Tune Up” which is scheduled for September 17th.

“EZ Lift” Super Late Models, “P3 Graphix” Indiana Pro Late Models, UMP Modifieds, “Woolston Automotive” Super Stocks, and “Staff Management” Pure stocks are on tap for the evening.

No posts to display