Clearspring school conducts 65th reunion


The annual Clearspring School reunion was Aug. 28 at Brownstown Elementary School with 90 people, including former teachers and coaches, in attendance.

President Darrell Branaman welcomed the group, and Joella Black Gallion gave the invocation for the pitch-in dinner.

Special recognition was given to veterans present, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The meeting was called to order, and a special thank-you was given to all who volunteered with setting up, decorating and helping serve the food and drinks.

Secretary-treasurer Rose Wray read the minutes and gave the treasurer’s report with both being accepted.

The floor was opened for nominations for officers to be elected for the coming year. Willie Hurd made a motion to nominate the same officers, and Sue Curry and Martha Kelley both seconded the motion.

In need of a new vice president, Jerry Warren nominated Wally Mullins, and Willie Hurd nominated Jim Cooper, who immediately declined. Bill Combs seconded the motion to elect Mullins. All present agreed, and each officer agreed to serve another year.

A candle was lit by Branaman as Jim Cooper and Dennis Campbell played soft music as the memorial roll of 27 names was read of students and teachers who had passed away this past year.

Special recognition was given to the 1966 graduating class, which is celebrating its 50th year. Class members present were Fleeta Kay Arthur, Floyd Bottorff, Johnny Mac and Trudy Brown, Danny and Kay Fisher, Roy and Joanna Fleetwood, Larry and Darlene Fox, Sue Fee Heller, Velda Edwards Jackson, George Peachee, Randall and Carolyn Speer and Larry Smallwood.

Past cheerleaders who were present, Linda Fleetwood Helmbreckt, Sue Curry Isaacs and Reva Goen Pearson, led the group in the school song.

Baskets were then passed around for donations to cover expenses, and an announcement was made of the Houston Fall Festival on Oct. 8.

Frank Cummings and Larry Isaacs were recognized as past teachers.

Melvin Weddell, who graduated in 1941, received a potted plant for being the oldest present. Others winning door prizes were Johnny Mac Brown, Wayne Price, Tommy Fox, Larry Smallwood, Andy Lockman and Stella Porch Sparks.

James Cooper, Dennis Campbell and Frank Fisher provided the music.

Everyone was reminded that the school reunion always is the fourth Sunday in August.

The meeting was adjourned by all singing “God Be with You Until We Meet Again.”

No posts to display