Brownstown Speedway conducts Don Russ Memorial event


Headlining the Brownstown Speedway schedule June 25 was the Don Russ Memorial — Pure Stock Special.

Thirty-two Pure Stock competitors eyed the $1,000 payday, but that prize was claimed by Tim Rivers of Salem.

Rivers led the most laps of the event and was able to hold off a late race charge by Seymour’s Josh Hayes to pick up his second win of the season in the Pure Stock division.

Hayes picked up the “Hard Charger” award after bettering himself seven positions from his ninth place starting position. Rivers picked up a bonus for leading the most laps.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Seymour’s Jim Ruddick blistered the one-quarter mile dirt oval in time trials with a time of 16.561 seconds. Heat race winners included Mickey Hines, Troy Clark and Paul Owens.

Devin Gilpin, last week’s winner in the UMP Modified division, took home the win in the Super Late Model division over Edinburgh’s Joe Godsey. Godsey closed Gilpin’s near straightaway lead in the closing laps of the twenty-five lap event but his efforts came up short as Gilpin went on to score his first win of the season in the Late Model division. Chad Stapleton, Godsey, and Gilpin were heat race winners.

The Super Stock feature ended with a photo finish between Columbus veteran Randy Petro and Freetown’s Tom Ault. Petro and Ault raced side by side in the closing laps but it was Petro who prevailed at the line, taking his familiar dark green entry to victory lane for the first time this season. Petro has 303 career wins to his record. Petro, JT Huffman, and Tim Eddleman were heat race winners.

Yet again, an O’Neal visited Victory Lane in the Indiana Pro Late Model Series. This time it was Marty O’Neal who was able to edge out his nephew Hudson O’Neal in one of the closest finishes in the history of the famed race track.

With a margin of victory of a mere 0.003 seconds, Marty won by a razor’s edge over Hudson, who led nearly every lap of the event. Hudson got crossed up coming out the final turn, which left the inside open for Marty to make a move.

Scoring transponders and photo finish cameras were used to determine the winner, as both cars made contact with each other and crossed the line virtually at the same time.

Both O’Neals picked up their respected heat race wins. Memphis, Indiana’s Matt Patus also scored his heat race win.

Rod Henning picked up the victory in the MMSA Mini-Sprint division.

Feature results

Pure Stock Feature: Tim Rivers, Josh Hayes, Troy Clark, Mickey Hines, Dalton Fleenor, Derek Clegg, Jason Combs, Greg Sims, Zach Hochgesang, Zachary Stalker, Allen Waltermire, David Palmer, Donnie Wilson, April Walton, Jeremy Huebner, Paul Owens, Tim Asbell, Jim Ruddick, Travis Hamilton, William Burton

Super Late Model Feature: Devin Gilpin, Joe Godsey, Chad Stapleton, Jared Bailey, Jeremy Hines, Shelby Miles, Alan Magner, Steve Godsey, Steve Barnett, Marty O’Neal, Greg Amick, Austin Tunny, Nathan Vawter, Logan Mounce, John Baker Jr, Dusty Chapman, Karlie Holt, Lee Williams, Glenn Thompson, Robbie Gullion, Matt Bex, TJ Wright

ILMS Pro Late Model Feature: Marty O’Neal, Hudson O’Neal, Chad Stapleton, Matt Patus, Steve Barnett, Justin Shaw, John Gill, Clint Demoss, Steve Godsey, Brian Shewmaker, Tyler Cain, Brad Barrow, Raymond Humphrey, Tyler Neal, Remington Gill, Geraid Gault, Issac Rainey, Bodi Henry, Austin Burns, Shelby Miles

Super Stock Feature: Randy Petro, Tom Ault, Tim Eddleman, Aubrey Eagin, David Brewer, Dave Shelton, Jim Pfeiffer, Jeff Paterson, Jack Frye, Jamie Ruddick, Ronnie Pardue, Donald Moore, Beau Lyvers, Troy Clark, JT Huffman, Sam Arthur, Jamey Wilson, Kevin Jones, Colton Sullivan, Matt Boknecht, Greg Garrison, Ben Carter

No posts to display