Fresh faces shine at Bloomington


Nick Bilbee of Indianapolis won his first Sprint Car feature of the season May 13 at Bloomington Speedway. Chris Windom finished second, followed by Dakota Jackson of Elizabethtown, Jeff Bland and Kevin Thomas Jr.

Bradley Sterrett of Bloomington took his first Modified main event of the season. Josh Harris was second, followed by Zach Fair, Richie Lex and Jacoby Hines.

J.P. Matthews scored his first win of 2016 by taking the Hornet division feature. Jamie Ogle of Columbus was second, followed by Tony Napier of North Vernon, Jeremy Smith and Davey Waggoner of North Vernon.

It was the best career finish for Ogle in only his third race. Earlier in the night, he won his first-ever heat race. Jamie is the son of Tony Ogle and grandson of former racer Ken “Hillbilly” Ogle.

Bloomington’s next event will be the Josh Burton Celebration Night on May 27. On the race card that evening will be 410 Non-Wing Sprints, RaceSaver Sprints, Modifieds and Super Stocks. For more information, visit

Sweet, Gravel take Outlaws events

Current World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series points leader Brad Sweet won the series visit to Plymouth Speedway in Plymouth on May 13. It was Sweet’s sixth series win of the season. Daryn Pittman finished second, followed by David Gravel, Greg Wilson and Joey Saldana.On May 14, David Gravel picked up the World of Outlaws win at the Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt. Brady Bacon came home in second, followed by Parker Price-Miller, Donny Schatz and Kerry Madsen.

James Essex is the motorsports columnist for The Republic, a sister paper of The Tribune. Send comments to [email protected].

No posts to display