Mellencamp receiving honor from group


Seymour native John Mellencamp will be honored by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers.

It was announced Wednesday that the songwriter and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member will receive the Founders Award at the 33rd annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards on April 27.

The exclusive, invitation-only gala, which celebrates the songwriters and publishers of ASCAP’s most performed pop songs of 2015, will be at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, California.

In his career spanning more than 35 years, Mellencamp also has won a Grammy and received the John Steinbeck Award, ASCAP Foundation’s Champion Award, The Woody Guthrie Award and Americana Music Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

“For the last four decades, John Mellencamp has captured the American experience in his songs,” ASCAP President Paul Williams said. “His infectious melodies and compassionate lyrics, wrapped in workingman’s rock, crystallize life’s joys and struggles and illuminate the human condition. A national treasure, he’s also one of the truly great music creators that can make us care, move, clap and sing along.”

The Founders Award goes to pioneering ASCAP songwriters who have made exceptional contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators, according to

Past recipients include Ashford and Simpson, Burt Bacharach and Hal David, Jackson Browne, Elvis Costello, Billy Joel, Annie Lennox, Sir Paul McCartney, Joni Mitchell, Tom Petty, Smokey Robinson, Gene Simmons and Paul Stanley, Carly Simon, Patti Smith, Steely Dan, Rod Stewart, James Taylor, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry (Aerosmith), Tom Waits, Ann and Nancy Wilson (Heart), Stevie Wonder and Neil Young.

Mellencamp has released more than 20 albums and currently is working on a new one featuring Carlene Carter.

No posts to display