Brownstown Speedway kicks off racing season



Brownstown Speedway kicked off the 2016 racing season Saturday night with the eighth running of the “No Way Out 40” for non-wing sprint cars.

Bryan Clauson etched his name in “No Way Out” history by becoming the first repeat winner of this sprint-car classic.

Clauson had to wage a fierce battle with Robert Ballou and Kyle Cummins to take home the $7,500 top spot.

Ballou would hold off Cummins for second, with a charging Dave Darland finishing fourth from his eighteenth starting spot. Jon Stanbrough rounded out the top five.

Max McGhee set a new non-wing sprint track record of 13.407 seconds during time trials.

Derek Groomer picked up the first UMP Modified feature of the season in a competitive race with Ryan Thomas (second) and Victor Lee (third).

Jason Setser got the UMRA King of TQ’s feature win. Jason Goff, Matthew Hedrick, Dave Darland, and Johnny Goff completed the top five.

Saturday is the ILMS/Brownstown Speedway Opening Points Night, featuring Indiana Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks, Pure Stocks and Hornets.

Gates open at 3 p.m., and hot laps start at 6 p.m.

No posts to display