Seymour’s 2015-16 boys and girls swimming and diving season proved one for the record books.

The team finished a combined 25-5 in meets this past winter, the best win-loss record in school history.

On Tuesday, the team met one last time to celebrate their accomplishments at the school’s cafeteria.

The Owls’ girls team went 13-2 in the water, the second-best record at Seymour High School behind the 1994 squad that went 14-0.

It was the 22nd-straight year that the girls swim team finished with a winning record.

At the Hoosier Hills Conference meet, the girls finished third among eight teams.

In the sectional, hosted by Floyd Central, the Owls girls again finished third.

Owls head coach Dave Boggs said that Indiana has one of the toughest postseason swims in the country for girls competition.

“Our state meet in Indiana is phenomenal,” Boggs said. “Last year, Carmel set three national high school records. Not California, Texas or Florida — but Indiana.”

Boggs said that the girls team had 23 of 25 lifetime bests at the sectional.

Sophomore Katie Turner and junior Kenzie Persinger shared the Most Valuable Award on the night.

The most improved went to Marcegui Vasquez, Grace Hartman was presented the mental attitude and Nastya Yakovleyva took home the 110 percent award.

Senior captain Alexis Anders will graduate from the program.

The Owls’ boys team tied the school record for most wins in a season, going 12-3.

Under Boggs, the boys had their 23rd consecutive winning campaign.

Boggs said that he had a young boys team, with just nine returning athletes.

Like the girls, the boys finished third at sectional and in the HHC.

“What’s amazing about is that out of eight teams in the conference, we’re the second smallest school by a considerable amount,” Boggs said. “Some schools have almost 2,000 more kids. The only smaller school is Madison.”

Owls senior Noah Bullard earned the most valuable honor at the banquet.

Bullard won the sectional in the individual medley while also qualifying for state in the breaststroke.

In the sectional, the Seymour boys finished 21 for 26 in lifetime bests.

Jackson Boyt earned the most improved and Levi Pfaffenberger received the mental attitude.

Steve Frohling and Daniel Hartman shared the 110 percent award.

Pfaffenberger, Bullard and Caleb O’Brien will graduate this spring from Seymour.

Finishing his 32nd season heading the program, Boggs is now the longest tenured coach at Seymour for boys or girls in school history.

No posts to display