Familiar territory

Tribune staff reports

The Midwest Sprint Car Series made their first-ever visit to Brownstown Speedway on Saturday night, but a familiar face found his way to Victory Lane.

Brady Short of Bedford and Dickie Gaines would wage a fierce battle for the lead throughout the 25 lap non-wing sprint feature with Short taking the lead over Gaines as the two drivers fought through lapped traffic.

Short would hang on to the lead at the checkered flag, recording his fifth career Brownstown Speedway sprint-car victory.

Gaines, Nick Bilbee, Bub Cummings and Stephen Taylor completed the top five. The Indiana Late Model Series Pro Late Models also were on the racing card for the evening with Spencer’s Marty Oneal getting the win against Joe Janowski, Brad Barrow, Alan Magner and Hudson O’Neal in another Pro Late Model feature. Oneal has 3 Pro Late Model wins for 2015 at the track.

Jared Bailey of Bedford would become only the third Modified driver to get a win at the Speedway this season, recording his first 2015 “Fast Max” Modified victory against Ryan Thomas, Joe Godsey, Chad Combs and Rick Gumm.

Seymour drivers Matt Boknecht and Tyler Cain have battled all year in “Woolston Automotive” Super Stocks, with Saturday night being no different. Boknecht would get the victory against Cain, recording his sixth 2015 feature win.

Following Boknecht and Cain at the finish was Jim Pfeiffer, Jamey Wilson and Tim Schumpe.

The Midwest Mini-Sprint Association’s Winged Mini Sprints made their first 2015 appearance at the track with veteran driver Collin Ambrose of Owensboro, Kentucky, capturing the feature win.

Brownstown Speedway’s next two events will feature the track’s Hornet division special Aug. 29 and Sept. 5, a $2,000 to win event for the “P3 Graphix” Super Late Models.

The Sept. 5 event will serve as the final tune-up before the Jackson 100. The Speedway’s marquee event, the 36th annual Jackson 100 is scheduled for Sept. 18 and 19 and will once again feature the Lucas

Oil Late Model Dirt Series racing for $20,000 to win.

Visit brownstown speedway.com for more race information.