November ballot now set


Anyone attending the first Seymour City Council meeting of the year in 2016 will see few if any changes involving their elected officials despite the Nov. 3 municipal election.

Current Mayor Craig Luedeman will lead the meeting, and Clerk-Treasurer Fred Lewis will take the minutes.

The two Republicans are unopposed for four-year terms for the second straight time and won’t have to spend any time or money campaigning.

The lack of a race for mayor or clerk-treasurer was set after the Jackson County Democratic Party was unable to find someone willing to run for either office. The filing deadline to put a name on the ballot was noon Tuesday.

Luedeman said the lack of interest in the mayor’s race has left him with two thoughts.

“Either nobody wants it, or two, maybe we are doing a good job, so nobody wants to run,” he said Tuesday.

With no opponent, Luedeman said, he will not have to spend any money campaigning for his third term. He said he likely spent more than $20,000 the first time he ran eight years ago.

Either way, the lack of an opponent allows him to be more aggressive this year with some of the things he wants to accomplish.

“In an election year, things kind of slow down,” he said.

Luedeman said the things he would like to accomplish this year and into his next term include increasing park and recreational activities, installing more trails and improving roads.

“I also want to see more people downtown just enjoying themselves,” he said.

The addition of Rails Craft Brew and Eatery is a nice start, he said, but he wants to see more shops and restaurants downtown.

Lewis is seeking a seventh term as clerk-treasurer.

The Democrats have three candidates on the ballot: John J. Reinhart, who is seeking re-election to the District 1 council seat; political newcomer Tammy Riordan, who is running for the District 4 seat currently held by Republican Jim Rebber; and incumbent at-large council member Lloyd Hudson. Rebber and Hudson are both seeking a sixth term.

The District 5 seat is held by independent Dave Earley, who also is seeking another term.

Other Republicans on the November ballot include Darrin Boas and newcomer Kendra Zumhingst, who won the party’s vote in the May primary for two at-large council seats. Boas holds one of the seats after being chosen in January by a Republican caucus to fill a vacancy.

Independent Shawn Malone is seeking an at-large seat in the general election this fall.

Republican newcomer Matt Nicholson is unopposed on the ballot for the District 3 council seat. Incumbent Danny Sloan decided not to seek election to a full term.

Republican Brian “Bubba” D’Arco will be unopposed in the fall in his bid for a second term as District 2 council member.

No posts to display