Former Seymour coach among Hall officers


The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame recently announced the election of new officers to serve two-year terms, beginning today.

That includes Donna Sullivan of Seymour as vice president south.

Sullivan, a graduate of Orleans High School and Indiana University, posted a record of 344-241 in 31 seasons as the girls basketball head coach at Seymour High School. She also is an Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame inductee.

Sam Alford was elected as president, while Steve Witty is executive vice president, Ray Pavy remains treasurer, and Jerry Peirson was elected as secretary.

Other officers include Jim Callane, past president; Orvis “Shorty” Burdsall, vice president north; Carol Tumey, vice president central; Phil Isenbarger and Amy Metheny, at-large representatives; and Vance Meier, Henry County representative.

The Hall of Fame’s board of directors for 2015-16 includes Mark Baltz, Dr. Phil Borst, Mike Broughton, Jack Colescott, Bobby Cox (IHSAA commissioner seat), Jim Fisher, Mark Gabriel, Steve Green, Greg Humnicky, Alan Nass, Jim Powers Jr., Randy Shields, Al Tucker, Bill Walker and Judi Warren.

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame was established in 1962 and opened its museum in New Castle in June 1990. For information, visit or call 765-529-1891.

No posts to display