Middle school clothing drive nets big results


Every year, Seymour Middle School students conduct a winter clothing drive to collect coats, gloves, hats, sweaters and other cold-weather attire for people in the community.

But this year, organizers decided to try to spread donations out by having a second collection in the spring.

The goal for the spring clothing drive was 5,000 items, according to history teacher Chris Kleber, clothing drive co-sponsor.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Students far exceeded that amount, bringing in a total of 15,750 pieces of clothing for the Jackson County Clothing Center in Seymour.

Combining the totals from both clothing drives, more than 20,000 items were donated.

Top individual collectors were Levi Croquart, sixth grade; Carlee Robinson, seventh grade; and Hemangi Patel, eighth grade. PRIDE classes collecting the most were Mindy Clay’s sixth-grade class, Matt Martin’s seventh-grade class and Lisa Freeman’s eighth-grade class. Those three classes will receive a pizza party. The top individual collectors receive $50 in Owl bucks to spend at the school’s reward store.

Students who brought in at least 75 items got to participate in a movie and popcorn party April 24. They were:

Sixth grade: Payton Toepfert, Heaven Mautino, Jayden Perkins, Macy Traylor, Samantha Sanchez, Tori Gray, Brandon Kleber, Tyler Otte, Owen Marshall, Levi Croquart, Michael Guinn, David Persinger, Madylin Moon, Javon Browning, Mady Burns, Leigha Butler, Jacob Ray, Sidney Nielson, Faith Jimenez, Ella Wingler, Hannah Busby, Ryan Neal, Chloe Hudson, Alyssa Perry, Connor Harriss, Charlotte Rust, Celeste Huddleston, Justin Goodloe, Logan Bryant, Amaya Pierceall and Cody Ruble.

Seventh grade: Carlee Robinson, Trever Stuckwisch, Lucas Bane, Jacob Bowman, Jacob Cordes, Braden Handloser, Austin Locke, Colin Madden, Maggie Newkirk, Jozie Nicholson, Pujaben Patel, Luke Plummer, Emma Speer, Makenna Sunbury, Bailee Wolfe, Mackenzie Driver, Katie Curry, R.J. Beavers, Maria Viveros, Shelby Kieser, Cody Estes, Cameron Barr, Kylie Bishop, Clark Owen, Addi James, Laken Waskom, Garrett Minton, Alexis Penegar, Will Rinehart, Michael Hawkins, Erin Otte, Montana Engleking, Kristyn Marquez, Ileana Brock, Eric Blacklidge, Briely Barker, Josiah Blackerby, Samantha Bryant, Amy Cravens, Lyra Claycamp, Jared Rockey, Olivia Saunders, Blake Schneider, Josie Schneck, Katie Abernathy, Layla Ratliff and Jessica Schrink.

Eighth grade: Faith Guinn, Anne Lin, Delaney Cummings, Kara Rice, Makenna Fee, Marcegui Vasquez, Emily Hume, Sarah Nielson, Hemangi Patel, Heather Wilson, Mikayla Moore, Cole Fosbrink, Bailey Lauster, Adrienne Martin, Abi Downey, Emma Ramp, Keegan Sunbury, Breann Hammond, R.J. Kleber, Zachary Glover, Lester White, Kaelen Eglen, Tiffany Mize, Courtney Hirons, MaCayla Hawkins, Conner Klakamp, Davida Freeman, Cheyenne Douglass, Haley Carpenter and Justin Ruddick.

No posts to display