Throwback Thursday for April 30


The Tribune displays photos from past Jackson County athletics in a weekly feature called “Throwback Thursday.”

We would like your photos and memories. Please email sports editor Jordan Morey at [email protected] or call him at 812-523-7069.

(Following information is for this week’s feature)

The 1957 Shields High School football team: South Central Conference champions.

Owls head coach Dave Shaw’s 1957 team had one of the best seasons in the history of Seymour football.

After ranking at one time as high as 10th in the state and finishing in a tie for 13th place, the Owls were named the South Central Conference champions.

The team broke the all-time scoring record with the most points in program history.

Shaw was named the SCC coach of the year for his team’s efforts.

Five of the Owls were named to the all-conference team: Jerry Armstrong, Mark Hill, Don Schroer, Howard Osborne and Pat Kelley.

Kelley, a tackle, became the second player in Seymour history to be selected on the all-state team, and Armstrong was named honorable mention.

In the very front, listed in the yearbook as the team’s mascot, is Johnny “Cougar” Mellencamp.

Row one, from left, Louie Bobb, Ron Nowling, Don Schroer, Max Norris, Don Kieser, Grover Davis, David Taylor, Joe Gili, Steve Wieneke, Steve Hawn and Ron Bennett.

Row two, from left, Ed Sanford, Steve James, Bill Nichter, Marlin Wright, “Pete” Vance, Robert Zickler, Steve Beard, John Ferry, Dave Brooks, Joe Hartsell and Christ Schnepf (manager).

Row three, from left, Roger Voss, Gerald Lucas, Pat Burke, Charley McElfresh, Tom O’Connor, Bob Endicott, Butch Larson, John Ashcraft, Nick Kestner, Bob Bennett and coach Walter Wintin.

Row four, from left, Pat Kelley, Jerry Armstrong, Bill Hazzard, Howard Osborne, Bill Dollens, Joe Johnson, Jim Endicott, Ron Otte, Larry Brooke, Mark Kill and coach Dave Shaw.

This week’s photo was provided by Billie Wintin.

No posts to display