Students to compete for Mr. SHS title


You should know

Students to compete for Mr. SHS title

Twelve Seymour High School students representing different clubs and organizations will take to the stage Friday to compete for the title of Mr. SHS.

They are Daniel Hauersperger, Jacob Sipes, Cameron Deppen, Corey Combs, Keegan Bowman, Reid Wieneke, Harsh Patel, Sam Loebker, Caleb O’Brien, Patrick Fraizer, Seth Carter and Tim Molinari.

Tickets are $5 and can be purchased at the door. The show begins at 7 p.m.

People can vote for their favorite contestant by dropping money into boxes set up at the doors. The contestant who brings in the most money will win the People’s Choice award.

The annual event will feature the students competing in categories such as club wear, talent, a group dance and a question-and-answer session.

This year’s community judges will be Dr. Walter Warren, Matt Nieman, Lydia Maupin and John Hiester. They will be judging the contestants on how well their outfit or costume represents their club, poise, confidence, how well they perform their talent and in the group dance and on their answer to a random question.

The Mr. SHS contest started nearly 20 years ago with the school’s Renaissance program as a way to raise money for student activities.

Organizers are hoping to raise at least $2,000 at the event.

No posts to display